Aunt Johnnie's Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
As a pastry chef Instructor, I gather the most rated basic recipes for my student. I make them first before passing them to my students. This is a very moist cake. Although, my students and I made different versions of this cake. Chocolate was the most flavorful pound cake. Cut the flour to 90% and add cocoa powder plus 2 tsp instant coffee instead. I found it super sweet so I ask them to reduce the sugar to 2/3, add lemon, and lime zest for the plain version and of course we always use butter only. For best result, always use room temp ingredient for cakes and cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeilaLove

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Very good. Professional quality results...A bit sweet....I decreased the sugar by about 1/2 cup. I didn't have cake flour on hand, so I just used regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I have made this pound cake more times than I can count. It's amazing with strawberries, or served with a butter/brown sugar sauce with bananas. So moist! I use a bundt pan usually, but works well split into two loaf pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Best Pound Cake I've ever eaten! I did use 1 teaspoon of Almond Extract and 1 teaspoon of Vanilla Extract but otherwise I made it exactly as written. Loved it -- can't stop eating it. Probably going to gain 10 pounds myself, lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Great recipe. A bit too moist and a bit too sweet - otherwise yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
mMmm..very moist!! Next time, I'm going to use vanilla extract. This is good as is, but the almond is not hitting the spot for me!! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OolyndeoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I used all butter, and vanilla not almond extract. Everyone thought it was a perfect cake :) Beautifully moist, dense, melt-in-your-mouth and crusty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Delicious! I used 1 t. vanilla, 1 t. almond extract. I baked them in (2) 8"x4" loaf pans at 300F for 65 minutes. I added foil in the last 15 minutes, after the edges started browning. Unfortunately, the crust never browned up the way I wanted. But it tasted so good! Served with "Simple Strawberry Sauce" and whipped cream. Thanks Jean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly except for trading in the almond extract for vanilla. It was TOO sweet, oily and bland. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
SOOOOOOO YUMMY!!! I wanted to make some pound cake to serve with strawberry and whip cream, but this cake tastes so good by itself. It turned out sweeter than I thought but still EXCELLENT! I used half almond extract and half vanilla extract. I also used softened butter to make the creaming easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Na Ree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Victorville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States