Aunt Johnnie's Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Dee-lish! I'm an American living in England and I made this tonite for my church homegroup. These crazy English people had never heard of pound cake! I think they were a bit taken aback by how rich and heavy it is. Personally I thought this was FANtastic. First pound cake I'd ever made. I didn't have cake flour and didn't want to bother trying to make my own so used regular - it worked fine! I did the 1/2 almond 1/2 vanilla. You could def still taste the almond which was yummy. I used 2 loaf pans with one batch. Thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
A new family favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I love to bake but this was my first time making pound cake. This recipe was fantastic. The texture was great and so was the flavor. I am a fan of almond extract but may do half vanilla extract next time as other's suggested. Did not find it too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Needed a pound cake quick for a birthday. Baked this one. Used some of the variations. 2 cups of sugar. The cake flour info from one. Plus I like alot of vanilla, so I used 1 1/2 Tbs. Left out the almond extract. Topped it w/ a sugar glaze. Sugar glaze was to make it look pretty. I had to bake a second cake, my family ate the first one before I could deliver. The cake was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
My fiancé is a huge fan of pound cake. When we first met, he raved on and on about the pound cake his ex’s mother would make. I’m glad to say that he loves this pound cake. I haven’t heard a thing about his former pound cakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valdez, Alaska, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Cake was a bit too sweet even though I used just two cups of sugar instead of 2 1/2 cps. Wasn't crazy about the almond flavoring, will use vanilla instead next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Way to sweet for me. The texture wasn't too bad but wasn't expecting it to be so sweet. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This cake was wonderful!!! I make it for a church bake sale in November and as the base for a Strawberry Shortcake for Thankgiving. It was a huge hit at both events! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANTOINETTE_ROYAL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This recipe was wonderful. I don't see anything wrong with it no changes at all needed to be made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
My 11 year old son made it by himself except for the part where he needed to alternate ingredients, which he did not understand on his own, but then got it quickly. Came out really good, and everyone loved it and could not believe that he had made it all on his own and from scratch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 21-30 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States