Aunt Johnnie's Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I used a 10 inch bundt pan just like the recipe said to and my cake spilled over. It has been cooking for 2 hours and it is still not done. I am afraid I am having the same problem as others. I hope the cake tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
This cake was a disappointment. I followed the recipe and reviewers' hints to a T only to have the cake overflow the pan and come out in crumbles. Taste was overpowering almond extract. Next time I will try for a traditional pound cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISWILLI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Very good, old-fashioned pound cake flavor and texture. 2 tablespoon almond extract was way too overpowering, so I did 1.5 tablespoon vanilla, .5 tablespoon almond. This was a moist cake, but not SUPER moist like the Cream Cheese Pound Cake I & II from this site. If you want a definite no fail pound cake, use the recipes just mentioned. As for this recipe, I used ALL butter and all the ingredients should be ROOM TEMP. I've also substituted buttermilk for the milk and it was even better. Make sure you whip the butter and sugar om med. speed for at least 10-15 min. until light and fluffy. Makes all the difference. Follow the directions to a T, down to adding one egg at a time, and you'll end up with a winner. Have made this twice, but will go back to the Cream Cheese lb. cake recipes instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This is a very good pound cake. I used 1 tsp. vanilla and 1 tsp. almond extract. If you are using a 10 inch tube pan this cake will not spill out of the pan. It came out golden and I didn't have any problem with sticking because I used "Pam" to coat the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
I followed the recipe to a "T" and the flavor was horrible and the cake spilled all over my oven. The only thing that was right was the timing. I will definitely not make this again. Back to the trying to find a good pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This was ABSOLUTELY the best recipe for pound cake by far! I did modify the ingredients, using only 1 tps. of almond extract, 2 tsp. of vanilla, and 1 tsp. of lemon extract. The cake came right out of the pan with ease. I used the Baker's Joy spray with the oil and flour combined. The finished product was golden brown and delicious. I will continue to use this recipe forever. THANKS SO MUCH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
I'll give it a two only because of the flavor; I followed the recipe as written with the exception of the flavor, I made mine lemon. Otherwise a very disappointing result. The cake overflowed the pan, and took over 2 hours to bake. After removal from the pan it was very crumbly. So, back to the drawing board and off to clean the bottom of my oven.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYLADY4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Bluff, Illinois, USA
Living In: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
If I'm gonna eat pound cake, I like it to be heavy and moist. This was too light in consistency for my taste. The almond flavor was a bit overbearing too, but it wasn't bad by any means. I'll probably stick with "The Best Pound Cake" (submitted by Rhonda).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CN29URSERY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Very easy to make and tasty, too. I didn't have a bundt pan. I filled half the batter into muffin pans. Dropped some cream cheese into each muffin along with some blueberries. The rest of the batter I poured into a tart pan, then covered in cream cheese frosting and topped with fruit (kiwi,mango, blueberries, strawberries). I'll make it again. Thanks, Aunt Johnnie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
This is a phenomenal cake! I've been making it for years, but never reviewed it. My husband who doesn't have a sweet tooth will attack this cake when I make it. It is a sweet, moist almond cake that is right along the lines of most homemade pound cakes. My only "wish" is that the rest of the came came out with the crust that the top part gets- I could eat that (and gain 100 lbs!) all day! Yes, I have substituted other flavors such as vanilla (added a little extra) and rum. Always a great cake- Don't over bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States