Aunt Jewel's Chicken Dressing Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2007
READ THIS BEFORE MAKING IT.... I took advice from other reviews and mine turned out really good. I sauteed the chicken in a little butter and added diced onions and two cloves of garlic to the chicken while cooking to it. I also added some onion powder, salt and pepper. I used the amount of soup called for, but doubled the amount of stuffing and it paid off big time. Be sure to bake it uncovered so the stuffing isn't soggy. This was really good and I'll definitely make it again. My kids loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
492 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
The "can" of milk they are asking for in the recipe is just whatever milk you want to use, measured by the soup can! Not "canned milk", like some of these other reviewers were confused about. I hope I helped someone out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
I made a couple of slight changes some might find helpful- I added some onion and garlic powder to the chicken while it was boiling to help add some flavor. I bought a can of low sodium chicken broth instead of using my own reserves as well. I used 1 can of cream of chicken soup and one can of cream of mushroom. I mixed ALL of the ingredients together (chicken, soups, stuffing, and some extra onion and garlic powder) and apread into baking dish. I put a layer of stuffing I set aside on the top of the mixture so it would have a crispier topping. I also used Pepperidge Farms Seasoned Stuffing Mix, it came out great. I realize I made quite a few alterations, but it came out tasting absolutely wonderful. Thanks for the start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
The best chicken-and-dressing recipe I've ever eaten! Usually they're too salty or too gloppy, but this was perfect. I too made a few changes: 1) I used one 12-oz. box Mrs. Cubbison's cornbread stuffing (both bags) with 1-1/2 c broth. 2) While the chicken boiled (20 min. was plenty), I sauteed 1 c. chopped onion, 1 c. chopped celery, and 1 c. peeled, chopped apple in 4 T. butter, then mixed it into the stuffing mixture. I baked the casserole in a 9x13 pan (20 min. covered, 15 minutes uncovered). We could NOT stop eating this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCKim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This was really good and pretty easy. I made a couple of changes, per others' suggestions: 1) used TWO 6 oz pkgs of stuffing with 1.5 cups of chicken broth (I thought the cornbread stuffing was really good); 2) sauted garlic, 1/2 chopped onion, and celery in butter first, then mixed it in with the stuffing mixture; 3) added onion powder, sage, and rosemary to the stuffing mixture. My only problem was that I bought a rotisserie chicken, already cooked, from our store and that wasn't quite enough chicken for this dish. However it saved a bunch of time! Next time I will add more chicken. These amounts were perfect for a 9x13 dish. I cooked mine for 35 minutes total uncovered and it turned out wonderful! With these changes this is an excellent recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2001
Easy and tasty. We enjoyed this dish. The baking time needed was 35 minutes (the recipe asked for 45 min.).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Delish! I sauteed about 1/3 c chopped onion and 2 stalks of chopped celery in 4 T butter til translucent and tender and then added that plus about 1 1/2 tsp poultry seasoning to the chicken broth. I only made a 8x8 pan of this, but if I had made a larger pan, I would recomend doubling the stuffing mix. I used only 2 large breasts since I was making a smaller dish and the ratio of chicken to dressing was perfect. I covered this with aluminum foil and cooked for 30 minutes and then removed the foil for the last 15 minutes of baking since some reviewers said it dried out. This is a great comfort food meal. Really simple and quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
My husband is a very picky eater and hates casseroles, but he absolutely loves this one! He even requests that I make it again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
This is like a pot pie with a stuffing crust. When boiling the chicken, I added a stalk of celery, a couple baby carrots, a few peppercorns, some minced garlic, and a chicken boullion cube because I wanted it to be more "brothy". Plus, the recipe ingredients should state 1 1/2 cups of "reserved" chicken broth as well as stating "to add the reserved broth" (common sense told me to add it) because it really isn't clear. I also added 1/2 bag of frozen mixed veges to the soup/milk mixture. The kids loved it. Thanks Creter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
Sooo good! I added cracked black pepper & a bay leaf to the chicken stock. I also sauteed one chopped onion & 2 stalks chopped celery in 2 Tbsp. of butter to add to the dressing mixture. Also added some white pepper & rubbed sage to dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States