Aunt Jewel's Chicken Dressing Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I only used two pounds of chicken. Makes a lot. Very good. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
The only change I made was I doubled the stuffing and chicken broth. This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Culpeper, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This was a HIT with the family. Very Easy to make but I too made a few alterations to the Recipe. I tweaked it to what I had on hand, but for the most part I followed it. First I did Boil the Chicken took a little longer, Cut it up placed in the bottom of Pyrex pan, in a separate bowl mixed 2 large cans of Cream of Chicken (all I had on hand) with about 1/3 of milk (1/3 measured in soup can) poured mixture over cooked chicken. Then mixed 2 boxes of stuffing (chicken, had on hand) with chicken broth, poured over top of mixture. Placed in oven for 35 (roughly) Minutes. While that was cooking I cooked Broccoli cuts and Cauliflower with a table spoon of butter and a little water until tender. Also Cooked some egg noodles. when it was done. I placed Veggie mix and Noodles on plate and spooned baked mixture on top. You could certainly put this in the oven with the other ingredients but it worked well the way I did it...Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver City, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Whooo-hoooo! Loved it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I had to change this up to save time and add flavor to the dressing. I used a rotisserie chicken to speed up the time to prepare the recipe. With all of the sodium from the soup I used sodium free chicken broth. The boxed dressing had no flavor. I added a spoon of finely minced onion, some poultry seasoning, some ripped up white bread, and a little whipped butter and a tad extra broth. It tasted more flavorful and little closer to a quick version of real cornbread dressing. I baked it for about 10 minutes less so that it did not dry out. It made for a quick and easy meal tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
This is a delicious and easy to prepare comfort dish. Add a side of cranberry and you have Thanksgiving (almost) year round! If you want to go the extra yard as other reviewers have mentioned, adding some sauted celery and onion, a couple handfuls of frozen peas or broccoli, a bit of sage or poultry seasoning certainly gives a bit more "homemade" taste and appearance. I did do as others suggested and added the second package of stuffing mix ... it made for a more "dressing" like dish and cut well into squares for freezing leftovers. With or without the additions, you'll be pleased come dinnertime! :O)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This is a good comfort food casserole. I poached chicken breasts with onion,celery,garlic and poultry seasoning,salt & pepper. Then added fresh broccoli to the chicken,with cream of chicken and mushroom soup. Instead of stovetop stuffing, used a 14oz bag of pepperidge farm stuffing with onions and celery,and more poultry seasoning. I will keep this in my recipe file of great comfort food...also is easy on the budget!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I cut it in half because there are only 2 of us. It made quite a bit and my husband really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsbooth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
didn't use milk or broth and added lots of broccoli - great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I thought this was dry and lacked in taste. Although my kids ate it up, it needed some extra taste. Maybe next time I'll try to add some vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States