Aunt Janet's Pumpkin Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I made this exactly as written. I thought the flavor was great, not too spicy at all. But the top cakey part was way too dusty and dry, and it had these hard disc-like pieces all over the top that we couldn't cut through. I thought it would be more moist and have a cake consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I live in Korea and didn't have evaporated milk, so I used regular milk and it turned out great! Delicious, a big hit at our Christmas dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parkersburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I have made this exact same recipe many years ago and I must say that prefer it over the traditional pumpkin pie. This recipe adds that little extra something that everyone will enjoy. When I made it many of my guests wanted to know how it was made and if it was difficult. They also commented on how they preferred the cake over the "traditional pumpkin pie". This is what I will be serving at my Thanksgiving dinner this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This was a good, easy dessert to whip up last minute. I agree with others who suggest cutting in butter to the cake mix rather then the melt/pour method. I also was thinking this was more of a cake, but instead its essentially a pumpkin pie cobbler. Still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellygrrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Very easy and very very tasty. I am a pumpkin lover and this was delicious. Easy enough to make, worried about the 1hour bake time, but it was perfectly done. It taste like it took alot of time, but is very easy! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This was a huge hit in our house. I followed the recipe exactly - we love it! It reminds me of an upside down pumpkin pie, but better. The cake mix and pecans instead of a crust make it delicious. I made it for a weekend breakfast treat and it was gone by evening. Thank you for the recipe! Will definitely be making this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella67

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This was really easy to make. Would definately make again. Simple yet very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
unbelievable!! We make this all the time now. I have never been a huge pumpkin pie fan, but my kids and husband like it...this is a great compromise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
love this recipe sooooo good i used the 4 tsp of pumpkin pie spice instead of all the spices and work great every one wanted the recipe thanks Judy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I love this recipe. I do tweak it a bit. I add half of the Cake mix into the pumpkin mixture to make a firmer pumpkin base when cooked. Since I used half of the cake mix in the batter I cut back on the Butter to 1/3 cup. Everyone loves it so much that, every time I serve it I have printed out recipes to hand out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States