Aunt Jane's Brown Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
I just made this bread - it's amazing! I cut the recipe in half because I only own 1 loaf pan. Minor alterations - used 1/4 cup unbleached white and 1/4 whole wheat pastry flour (since I halved the recipe). I also used light soymilk in place of the milk. I will be making this A LOT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2001
This was actually my 1st attempt at making bread ever (I am new to cooking). Everyone thought I was crazy to take on the task of making bread. But, it was VERY easy to make, and provided me with 2 loaves of sweet and dense brown bread. It's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
great recipie. i made 4 mini loafs. i also think that it would be great by adding raisins and nuts and make muffins. also great with honey butter or cream cheese. this year it will be on my thanksgiving table. thanks lisa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
A big hit at Thanksgiving and easy enough for the kids to bake. I used mini loaf pans, so I could place cute loaves around the table (of 30 people!). Great with tons of butta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Good, but not what I was expecting. I'm looking for something similar to the brown bread served at The Cheesecake Factory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
This stuff is awesome! My hubby was speechless when he put the first bite into his mouth. It's awesome with cinnamon honey butter :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I really liked the flavor of this bread. It is very sweet, so to me it's like dessert or breakfast cake. The taste reminds me of shoo fly pie. I was surprised that it had neither shortening or egg in it. I'll make it again as it was so easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeezaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2003
Pretty good. Had much more the consistency of a gingerbread cookie than a loaf of bread. Thank you for sharing it, I.m glad I tried it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
everyone love's this. more like a dessert! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
This was very good, especially with honey butter. However, it wasn't the kind of brown bread I was hoping for. This one was more of a breakfast treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States