Aunt Jane's Brown Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I halved the recipe and used fat free milk. This came out super moist and dense, I can't believe it's so few calories! Top with fat free cream cheese and it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
I wanted to make some fresh (and quick) bread to go with the chili I made for dinner. I didn't have any molasses at the time, so I was forced to use honey. It turned out great! My family loved it! It was probably a bit too sweet to eat with chili, but I'll definitely make it again. Next time I'll try it with molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Good, but not what I was expecting. I'm looking for something similar to the brown bread served at The Cheesecake Factory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
This was very good, especially with honey butter. However, it wasn't the kind of brown bread I was hoping for. This one was more of a breakfast treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
My family loves this bread! It's great in the morning with flavored cream cheese spread on a slice! Very easy recipe to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
y Very good. Try it toasted, oh my God!! Had it on the Thanksgiving table along with the regular rolls. Was a nice combination of bread choices with our Turkey and gravy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
This stuff is awesome! My hubby was speechless when he put the first bite into his mouth. It's awesome with cinnamon honey butter :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
This is an excellent recipe. It really good for Thanksgiving or a nice family supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
I just made this bread - it's amazing! I cut the recipe in half because I only own 1 loaf pan. Minor alterations - used 1/4 cup unbleached white and 1/4 whole wheat pastry flour (since I halved the recipe). I also used light soymilk in place of the milk. I will be making this A LOT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
A big hit at Thanksgiving and easy enough for the kids to bake. I used mini loaf pans, so I could place cute loaves around the table (of 30 people!). Great with tons of butta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States