Aunt Jane's Brown Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Delicious brown bread that is very easy to make. This is my go-to bread when I feel like making fresh bread but am too lazy to go through the whole bread-making process (i.e. kneading / letting bread rise etc)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
So simple, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
very good, and easy to make...only thing I found was 45 mins was a bit too long, came out dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Pretty good. It is sweet but it's nice with butter or plain. The loaves are pretty small so if you wanted a larger loaf you could probably just pour it all into one pan--but if you do that, make sure you bake longer! I added dried cherries and raisins just because. Very easy, and a good use of milk. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This is my first bread I made on my own and everyone loved it. My dad is pleading me to save the remainder for later, my mom's begging for the recipe and my one year old tried some and said 'Num num'. It is rather gingerbread like in texture, thick, and though my family likes it plain, I'm enjoying it with butter. Thank you much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
A family favorite, if it's on the table it's gone in minutes. And incredibly easy to make. Thanks for the fantastic recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Definitely a pleaser. A very thick, sweet bread that's a good compliment to pasta, or tasty just by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I really liked the flavor of this bread. It is very sweet, so to me it's like dessert or breakfast cake. The taste reminds me of shoo fly pie. I was surprised that it had neither shortening or egg in it. I'll make it again as it was so easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeezaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This bread was wonderful and easy to make, trouble is, I couldn't quit eating it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEAB77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crooksville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
everyone love's this. more like a dessert! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States