Aunt Hazel's Apple Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Not a huge fan. Too crumbly and dry. Had better results with another recipe on this site using less oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I liked these. I made 1/2 recipe today and got 19 cookies using a standard cookie scoop. The first batch took about 10 min to cook and the second about 8 minutes on a parchment lined baking sheet. I thought grating an apple would be a little difficult, but it was very easy to do. I may do it for oatmeal sometime. The ingredients list said butter, but than the directions mentioned margarine. So, I just did 1/2 butter and 1/2 non-hydrogenated margarine. It lowered the saturated fat anyhow. I followed the recipe but made them gluten free by using sorghum flour instead of wheat flour. They were still excellent and sorghum flour has a slight distinct taste over wheat flour. So, I can only imagine they would be even that much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I gave this 4 stars because it's a perfectly solid recipe that you can tinker with for fun. As per GardenRiot I added a 1/2 tsp of fresh ground cardamon and it gave the cookie a really nice and hard to identify spiciness! I also added 1/2 tsp of orange zest. There weren't enough walnuts for my taste so I think I'll try 1 full cup next time. This was most definitely delicious! I only ever use Silver Palate oats and for this a cortland apple. I can see how apple moisture and flavor could lead to varying results. For a crispier cookie swap out the apple for craisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Really enjoyed this! Followed the directions to a T!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
It tasted great! I used almonds instead but it was delicious as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
These cookies were great, but I added another 1/2 cup of flour to the dough because it was really sticky. Please note: THEY ARE DROP COOKIES! They are NOT cookies you can roll in your hands to make balls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OwlLuvR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I love love love these cookies! Definitely worth the extra couple minutes to add the frosting, much better with it! I took the advise from other reviews and added 1/4 c applesauce and I also added a little bit of pumpkin spice. I'm not even sure how to shred an apple, I just chopped it real fine at it was perfect! Thanks for the recipe, this one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
My family LOVED this recipe! I usually have awful luck with oatmeal cookies, but I used this recipe as a base and made a few changes ... we will definitely double the recipe next time! Changes: instead of 2 c. oats and 1 c. apples, I used 2.25 c. of instant oatmeal (cinnamon/apple flavor). I also cut the salt by 1/2 and used allspice instead of cinnamon--and instead of 1/2 c. nuts I used 1/2 c. crunchy peanut butter. The finished product didn't need the sugary topping---they had plenty of flavor and were quite moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I added a half tsp. of nutmeg and shredded half the apple and chopped the other half. The cookies were okay but nothing super exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Excellent cookies!Yummy........ I did follow someones suggestion and I used nutmeg, allspice and cardamon along with the cinnamon. I also did not grated the apple just chopped fine. Made a thick glaze with the powdered sugar and milk, but added a little fresh ground cinnamon. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States