Aunt Hazel's Apple Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Just made these last night. Super easy to make; followed the recipe, except used chopped apple instead of shredded. I must have made them small, because I got about 46 cookies out of the recipe. I was babysitting a friend's son and he was helping me out, but was disappointed when I added the nuts (a mix of walnuts and pecans), because he doesn't like nuts. Didn't seem to stop him; he ended up eating 4 before going home :) Added a bit of cinnamon to the glaze too. And yes, they come out of the oven looking the same as when they went in. Delicious cookie, definitely worth the minimal effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I'm sort of embarrassed to admit this but, ive made these cookies twice this week lol and its only thursday. They are amazing and thats an understatement. These are perfect for fall and made the house smell so good. My whole family loves them. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pooky2005

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beloit, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by annieelias
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annieelias

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Overall they smelled and tasted wonderful! Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Great cookie to experiment with. Used tiny diced apples, and added 1 Tbs ground flax seed. The original recipe is very good and very cake like. In our families opinion, it needs more spice, so just add your favorites. I am morphing it into a breakfast cookie for my teens, adding flax, raisins, maybe some ww flour etc. It is not too sweet, love that. Also it does not spread for me either, so I used the back of a fork to press and shape them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I was looking for something nice for breakfast at work. These cookies are soft and warmly spiced. I added cardamom, but otherwise kept to the recipe. I taste-tested one still warm from the oven with a cup of tea and it was lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Not a huge fan. Too crumbly and dry. Had better results with another recipe on this site using less oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I liked these. I made 1/2 recipe today and got 19 cookies using a standard cookie scoop. The first batch took about 10 min to cook and the second about 8 minutes on a parchment lined baking sheet. I thought grating an apple would be a little difficult, but it was very easy to do. I may do it for oatmeal sometime. The ingredients list said butter, but than the directions mentioned margarine. So, I just did 1/2 butter and 1/2 non-hydrogenated margarine. It lowered the saturated fat anyhow. I followed the recipe but made them gluten free by using sorghum flour instead of wheat flour. They were still excellent and sorghum flour has a slight distinct taste over wheat flour. So, I can only imagine they would be even that much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I gave this 4 stars because it's a perfectly solid recipe that you can tinker with for fun. As per GardenRiot I added a 1/2 tsp of fresh ground cardamon and it gave the cookie a really nice and hard to identify spiciness! I also added 1/2 tsp of orange zest. There weren't enough walnuts for my taste so I think I'll try 1 full cup next time. This was most definitely delicious! I only ever use Silver Palate oats and for this a cortland apple. I can see how apple moisture and flavor could lead to varying results. For a crispier cookie swap out the apple for craisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Really enjoyed this! Followed the directions to a T!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States