Aunt Gail's Oatmeal Lace Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This actually turned out really well! I made a few substitutions because I didn't have everything in the recipe. I used Earth Balance vegan margarine instead of butter. Although the Earth Balance site said the whipped product wouldn't work as well as their regular margarine, I used whipped and it worked out fine. I didn't have baking soda so I substituted 2 tsp baking powder instead. After baking, I swirled 1/2 tsp seedless raspberry jam in the middle of each cookie. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
These cookies were amazing!!! My little sister and myself spent about an hour making these and the result was incredible. The cooking time was a little longer than 8-10 minutes, and actually took about 20, but it was worth the wait!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nancy Olive Andtheroaddog
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Light and airy. Delicious and pretty. A cross between oatmeal and sugar cookies. The sugar as a decoration gives the cookie a nice glaze. I made half with the glaze and half without. I didn't have unsalted butter so i just used lightly salted butter and just a dash of salt. Perfect. I used non-stick parchment paper and they slid off the paper. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Olive Andtheroaddog

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Red Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
There is a reason these must be flattened out otherwise they don't spread. I also used shortening instead of butter and I felt that they were extremely soft and crumbly.\
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I made these as written - after they cooled I put chocolate on the flat side of one cookie and added another cookie on top for a sandwich. Melt about 6-8 oz. bittersweet chocolate with 1 tsp. butter. Put about a tsp. of chocolate to make a cookie sandwich. Really good. My sister's name is Gail - she gave me this recipe; then, I found this recipe online and we had a good laugh - quite a coincidence!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This recipe is lovely just like it is. I did not make any substitutions. I did use non-stick foil sprayed with butter Crisco and put 6 on the cookie sheet at a time, baked 10 min. Worked perfect, no problems removing the cookies. I let them set a couple of minutes after coming out of the oven. I used a paper towel to wipe off the foil, sprayed it again and it worked for the whole batch. I think these are the best oatmeal cookies I have ever made. Very crisp, light and airy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Three letters OMG! This was so easy and the flavor was great. This will now have a place every Christmas on my cookie list to make. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
These taste fantastic. As others have warned, make sure you have ample space in between cookies. When I make these again, I'll probably just make a great big one and cut it while it cools. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Love love love. These cookies are super easy to bake and soooo delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Great recipe! Just what I'm looking for. Make sure you don't add any nuts or raisins as it will change the consistency and will not be the lace cookie anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States