Aunt Gail's Oatmeal Lace Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
These lace cookies came out looking so beautiful. Hint: Be careful! You may think that you don't need the space but once the cookie starts to spread it will go farther than you imagined. The first time I tried it, I had uni-cookie. It will also be soft-ish when you take it out of the oven, but will harden to a lovely texture when it cools. (I substituted half of the white sugar with brown sugar.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2001
I found it easier to drop 1/8tsp. of batter onto a foil covered baking sheet and skip the flattening instructions. Be sure to keep a careful eye on these, as they can burn really quickly. Overall a GREAT cookie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Yum! These were alot easier than I expected. I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of substituting a bit of the flour with some oats I ground very fine with my coffee grinder. I just used my 1tsp measuring spoon to scoop out the dough onto the baking sheet. Even using the spoon I found that it didn't take much dough to vary the size of the cookie from about 2 1/2in to 3in in diameter. If you really want uniform cookies I suggest filling and leveling off the spoon size of your choice. Definitely leave the cookies on the pan for a few minutes to harden before moving them somewhere (like a cookie rack) they can cool completely. If you stack them warm they can stick, so beware! I used alum. foil, shiny side down, with a light spritz of canola on my pans and it worked like a charm. The foil made it easy to manipulate the cookies up without breaking them and the oil minimized sticking to the foil. I was even able to wipe off anything that had stuck, respray, and reuse my foil a few times before it tore and needed replaced. The cookies themselves are very delicate, crisp and tasty. They can get a bit crumbly around the edges, but I hope to remedy that when I sandwich them with a little chocolate later today. They definitely will benefit from it, both visually and taste-wise. My single batch made almost 7 dozen cookies, out of which I will get about 3-4dozen sandwiches (give or take some "sampling").
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GottaFeedYa!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomingdale, Ohio, USA
Living In: Steubenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
These are perfect cookies! I have had so many complements on them. My favorite variation: After the cookies have cooled, Melt some semisweet baker's chocolate and put a spoonful on the bottom of a cookie-- then sanwich it with the bottom of another cookie. The chocolate acts as a glue, and they become sandwich cookies. Delicious! However, make sure that your cookies cool totally flat for this to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Wow! I didn't have almond extract, so I used vanilla. I also used half white, half brown sugar. These were caramelly, crispy and fan-freakin-tastic! I am sorry to say that I ate the entire batch myself in about 3 days. My hips hate you, but I love you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Excellent cookies! The cookies do spread quite a bit, so be sure to leave the recommended 3" between cookies. I halved the recipe since I was making an assortment of cookies for the holidays and preferred a smaller batch. The recipe makes about 3 dozen cookies. I added chocolate chips to one batch....nice addition!! Nuts would be a nice addition as well. Bake until just brown around the edges. Thanks for sharing this special recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
These were great! They do spread really thin, so I didnt press down very hard with the sugared glass..just enough to get the sugar on. The dough itself was very tasty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Fabulous recipe!! These were nicely crunchy and had a great taste. I took some to a friend of mine and she loved them too! Definite keeper... thanks for sharing! I would suggest that the recipe be doubled though because these went way too fast. And the last batch I made the cookies a bit too big and they do spread when baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Benicia, California, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
Oh my how I love these cookies. With a dairy allergy in our house, it's sometimes hard to find dairy-free cookie recipes. I came looking for a lace cookie recipe without chocolate or nuts, and gave this one a try since I love oatmeal. They are so wonderful. I followed the recipe exactly, these are really special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
These are superb. I love oatmeal lace cookies and was looking for an easy recipe -- and this is it! I didn't have any almond extract to use so I just used all vanilla, but will definitely do the almond next time I make them. They came out light, slightly buttery. The only problem: they look so much healthier than they are and you can just eat and eat them! Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loogootee, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States