Aunt Gail's Oatmeal Lace Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Delicious! I'm lactose intolerant, and we were out of eggs tonight. Quick, delicious, and the best part is you can eat the raw batter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Grimm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethel, North Carolina, USA
Living In: New Bern, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I made these cookies because I wanted something using rolled oats that didnt require brown sugar(didn't have any brown sugar) I didn't really care for these. My 2 year old daughter and my 27 year old nephew loved them. I tried not pressing them, they came out a bit better, then I added cinnamon.I gave the a 4 because others liked them. They weren't bad, just not all that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigMocha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Good flavor not quite a lace cookie though. I realized after making them that for that fine thin texture I wanted, melted butter is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maddison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Wow! I didn't have almond extract, so I used vanilla. I also used half white, half brown sugar. These were caramelly, crispy and fan-freakin-tastic! I am sorry to say that I ate the entire batch myself in about 3 days. My hips hate you, but I love you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
they are very, very good.we can't get enough of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
well these tasted excellent... but the mixture was not very moist and made forming the cookies difficult. it was probably just my mistake! i'll try again soon. but for FLAVOR... fabulous! i used half white sugar and half brown. delish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aleasa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Foster City, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Good crunchy, buttery, sugary cookies. I got 3 dozen cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandiee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Yum! These were alot easier than I expected. I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of substituting a bit of the flour with some oats I ground very fine with my coffee grinder. I just used my 1tsp measuring spoon to scoop out the dough onto the baking sheet. Even using the spoon I found that it didn't take much dough to vary the size of the cookie from about 2 1/2in to 3in in diameter. If you really want uniform cookies I suggest filling and leveling off the spoon size of your choice. Definitely leave the cookies on the pan for a few minutes to harden before moving them somewhere (like a cookie rack) they can cool completely. If you stack them warm they can stick, so beware! I used alum. foil, shiny side down, with a light spritz of canola on my pans and it worked like a charm. The foil made it easy to manipulate the cookies up without breaking them and the oil minimized sticking to the foil. I was even able to wipe off anything that had stuck, respray, and reuse my foil a few times before it tore and needed replaced. The cookies themselves are very delicate, crisp and tasty. They can get a bit crumbly around the edges, but I hope to remedy that when I sandwich them with a little chocolate later today. They definitely will benefit from it, both visually and taste-wise. My single batch made almost 7 dozen cookies, out of which I will get about 3-4dozen sandwiches (give or take some "sampling").
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GottaFeedYa!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomingdale, Ohio, USA
Living In: Steubenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I tried using 1 stick of butter and the batter never stuck together, so I threw in the other stick, and my boys loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
These were sooo good. Exactly what I wanted. I reduced the butter a tiny bit. I already had 1 Tbl short of one stick already out of the fridge so I used that plus a whole nother stick. i will most definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessJenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States