Aunt Gail's Oatmeal Lace Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
These were easy and delicious! My husband can't stop eating them! I added finely chopped walnuts to the mix which gave the cookies a "walnut brittle" flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Super easy and quick to make and they look gorgeous! Possibly a bit too sweet, but I think that just depends on the person eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Great and easy recipe! I didn't have Almond extract and I used half brown sugar, half regular and it turned out perfect. My husband ate half the batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
These are superb. I love oatmeal lace cookies and was looking for an easy recipe -- and this is it! I didn't have any almond extract to use so I just used all vanilla, but will definitely do the almond next time I make them. They came out light, slightly buttery. The only problem: they look so much healthier than they are and you can just eat and eat them! Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loogootee, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly...cookies turned out flatter than a pancake. Too bad, needed a no egg dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Unable to help at my newlywed daughter's move to her new home, I made a big batch of chili and dessert goodies to feed her helpers. I'm not a big oatmeal fan but this recipe seemed relatively easy and made enough for everyone. After the first batch, I reduced the size a little hoping to make them as flat as possible. I followed the directions as written. A very little amount of butter helped to anchor the parchment paper to the bottom of the cookie sheet. Then again, a very small bit of butter to lightly coat the top of the parchment. The only difficulty I ran into was that the dough stuck to the bottom of the glass as I flattened them. Instead, with a little effort, I used my sugared fingers to shape and flatten the dough. After baking the cookies I put the still filled cookie sheet on a rack to cool off for 5 - 10 minutes, then using an offset spatula transferred the cookies back to the rack to cool completely. I didn't have a problem with the cookies sticking at all. I wish I knew why this worked out for me as it would have been nice to pass along some tips to reviewers having a hard time with the cookies sticking. Using butter instead of spray maybe? My daughter called to rave over these cookies, which apparently got eaten before the chili. She described them as melt in your mouth. I was left with only a few which were gone in about 5 minutes. If I can promise myself not to eat them all in one sitting, I'll be making these tomorrow. REALLY REALLY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
cookiis: GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
So yummy! I used 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar as recommended. I also used a tsp to scoop the dough and made sure each one was level so the cookies were pretty uniform. Tried melted semi-sweet chocolate, but I felt like it took away from the delicious flavor of the cookie. I made a few with sugar on top but they burned so quickly. Next time I will not use sugar on top. Excellent recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by renee816

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Danvers, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Exceptionally good cookies. Be careful, 'cause they crumble easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Wow- I made some changes and these were great! I took the advice of another person and used ha;f brown sugar, I omitted the almond extract, and replaced half of the butter with vanilla yogurt. It was just an experiment and it turned out great, but with a very strong vanilla flavor. Next time I will try these with whole wheat flour. Thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States