Aunt Gail's Oatmeal Lace Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
These cookies remind me of Sandies with their tender, crumbly nature. They tasted wonderful - my coworkers devoured an entire batch in one day! I couldn't figure out how to roll the dough as it's very sticky. Instead, I just dropped it by rounded tablespoons onto the prepared sheet and then gently poked it into a round shape before squishing it flat with the bottom of a glass. I think these cookies would be great for Christmas with colored sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tera M. Lindquist
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I've been looking for a recipe like this for ages. My mom had one that when the cookies were removed from the cookie sheet, she laid them over a wooden spoon and they cooled in the shape of long tubes. You could eat them empty or fill them with a cream filling. Just wonderful. These cookies brought back many happy memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Clair, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I have been searching for a recipe like this for the longest time! I NEVER leave reviews on here because I feel like some recipes are just ok- I typically end up disappointed. These cookies were GREAT!! I cut the recipe in half- made 12 medium/large cookies and used half white and brown sugar, I also added pecans and raisins. I baked them on silpat mats, I have two and I just alternated so I could leave the cookies on them while they cooled down. I see what other users have said...don't scrape them off the cookie sheet when they come out of the oven, they're very gooey and need to cool and set. Will make these again and would like to add some cinnamon next time! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Just made these. The whole family thought they were were awesome! I used 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar like others had recommended. They do burn easily so watch closely. Also, if you take them out a little early, they will finish baking on the pan the cookie is chewy. If you let them bake completely in the oven, they will be darker and crispier. Thank's so much for a super recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajbrumbaugh

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I made them today, as I read the recipe I got concerned, no eggs? I thought oh no, a misprint, but I pushed on with it. These cookies are so delicate, crisp and delicious I was amazed. They DO SPREAD a lot, so take heed, give them space. My husband is devouring them as I write this. He loves to dunk cookies in milk, these are too thin to dunk, but he loves them so much , he is willing to forgo dunking. I emailed this recipe to a dear friend, and I rarely do that. These are absolutely amazing ! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
cut the recipe in half and it was to greasy. Good flavor will try again with the full recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Texas, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Please send my HUGE thank you to your Aunt Gail. I just made these cookies and they turned out picture perfect. I followed the recipe except that I used Splenda Mix. The cookies were all uniform in size and baked golden brown. I love almond extract so this was a bonus flavor I usually do not use in oatmeal cookies. They are delicious! I will most definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doris King

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
These are best oatmeal cookies. I didn't have to tweak the recipe at all and they were fabulous!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha Stone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I wanted to give this 5 stars, but I wanted a crisp hard cookie. After the cookies sat out for a few hours they were on the soft and crumblely side. I did not like the sugar coated glass idea. The cookies would stick to the buttom of the glass or the sugar would get all wet. I flatten the cookies with my fingers, like you would a peanut butter cookie. We also dribbled melted chocolate chips over the tops in a random pattern after the cookie had cooled. There were still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Island Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Very tasty but extremely greasy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States