Aunt Eileen's Stuffed Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This dish is excellent. And a lot easier to make than it seemed while I was reading it. This is going to be a regular dish for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I love eggplant, and this recipe has become a regular for us. I don't stuff the shells, but rather, use the whole eggplant. I cook the whole thing is an iron skillet, then pop the skillet into the oven to melt the cheese. I did substitute sharp cheddar chese for the cheese called for, and put in lots of black olives. I am so glad I tried this recipe. Khazirahn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
The only thing I found is that it takes longer than 30 minutes to bake. I perused other recipes and the majority of them preheat the oven to 400 degrees. It's still baking and I'm sure it's delicious! :) PS - I have an Aunt Eileen but I don't think you're her. ;) Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smow

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cobb, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Very good. Next time I might replace the breadcrumbs with cous cous and see what happens. If you don't spray the tops with olive oil before baking, the eggplant husk becomes dry. My husband liked this very much and he usually is not a fan of vegetarian dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Great for a weeknight, meatless dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This is a go-to favorite in my meat-loving house, but I find it MUCH easier and tastier to eat topped with italian style canned diced tomatoes instead of sliced fresh ones. (Those hot tomato slices on top can be awkward and a lot of tomato in one bite). To those that find it bland, its much more flavorful with italian-flavored bread crumbs. It's cheaper and just as good without the olives and capers, and substituting grated mozzarella or Parmesan for the Gruyère.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I served this at a dinner party and it got rave reviews. Everone loved it except for 2 children who refused to even try it. It took me much longer than 20 minutes for prep time, but it was well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
God bless you, Aunt Eileen. Great recipe and this is how I tweaked it : mixed parmagian instead of gruyere, topped with bottled sun dried tomato and black olive Safeway spaghetti sauce and some mozzarella. To those that say this is labor intensive: don't scoop eggplant out, take a small sharp good knife and slice halved eggplant in square grid to within an 1/8 th inch of shell(If you break through shell it doesn't matter, it will still hold stuffing)carve out chunks by running knife along sides of shell and as close to center as you can get, pull or cut out chunks then put chunks in the food processor and pulse. You might also use food processor to chop onions and throw in the garlic cloves with them while you're at it. Bake shells at 425 for 10 minutes while you're cooking chopped chunks, onions, etc.. Take shells out of oven and turn down oven to 350 and by the time it cools to that temperature, the shells should be stuffed and you should be ready to bake those perfectly stuffed eggplants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Left out the capers (since I don't often have those) and this recipe is still a hit. I've made it 5+ times and love every bit of it. To make it even healtier I use some breadcrumbs and some ground flaxseed, it gives it a nice nutty flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Great! Our company liked it too. Followed the recipe except used dried parsley instead of fresh, monterey jack cheese instead of gruyere, and skipped the capers to save money. We'll make it again. I think it helps to dice (pulse a few times) the eggplant, onion and garlic in the food processor, and cook all together instead of cooking eggplant first for 1 minute, that's not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States