Aunt Eileen's Stuffed Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
Thanks, Aunt Eileen! What an incredible vegetarian recipe! Hollow the eggplant halves to leave a very thin layer (1/4 inch) of flesh, so that when it bakes, the remaining flesh is cooked tender and pulls easily away from the skin... I deglazed the pan with some of the vinegar from the capers jar to get the great caramelization from the bottom and added it to the bowl of stuffing... I also substituted Pecorino Romano cheese for the Gruyere (because that's what I had)... I really was surprised at how well it turned out... I will definitely invite guests the next time I make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
God bless you, Aunt Eileen. Great recipe and this is how I tweaked it : mixed parmagian instead of gruyere, topped with bottled sun dried tomato and black olive Safeway spaghetti sauce and some mozzarella. To those that say this is labor intensive: don't scoop eggplant out, take a small sharp good knife and slice halved eggplant in square grid to within an 1/8 th inch of shell(If you break through shell it doesn't matter, it will still hold stuffing)carve out chunks by running knife along sides of shell and as close to center as you can get, pull or cut out chunks then put chunks in the food processor and pulse. You might also use food processor to chop onions and throw in the garlic cloves with them while you're at it. Bake shells at 425 for 10 minutes while you're cooking chopped chunks, onions, etc.. Take shells out of oven and turn down oven to 350 and by the time it cools to that temperature, the shells should be stuffed and you should be ready to bake those perfectly stuffed eggplants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
Great recipe! My meat-loving boyfriend even liked it. I put the eggplant, onion and garlic in the food processor and I put the filling in the refrigerator for a couple hours to allow the flavors to develop. Thanks! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
This was very easy and extremely tasty! I used Asiago cheese instead - I also baked on a cooking stone. I added more garlic/onion and hot pepper. Excellent, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Good Turtle
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I don't think it's eggplant season yet, so I used cucumber instead! I chilled the stuffing for a couple hours as someone else suggested, I used kalamata olives, and omitted the lemon juice and capers -- i couldn't get the jar open! It turned out great and very good-looking. My parents (for whom I made this) loved it and even suggested I may be a better cook than my older brother! Best compliment ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Good Turtle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Burlingame, California, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This is so good it has become one of my regular dinners! One large eggplant cut in half makes a great filling meal in itself for two people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amber Pawlicki
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
I used cheddar chesse in the stuffing (that's what I had) and spinkled parm. chesse on the top. This is a really good recipe I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Pawlicki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunshine Summit, California, USA
Living In: Julian, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dani girl
Reviewed: May 24, 2008
It was a little bland. I squeezed lemon on top and that made it taste quite a bit better. I think it would taste better if you baked it with some marinara sauce on top. Will try this tomorrow night with the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dani girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanalei, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This is a go-to favorite in my meat-loving house, but I find it MUCH easier and tastier to eat topped with italian style canned diced tomatoes instead of sliced fresh ones. (Those hot tomato slices on top can be awkward and a lot of tomato in one bite). To those that find it bland, its much more flavorful with italian-flavored bread crumbs. It's cheaper and just as good without the olives and capers, and substituting grated mozzarella or Parmesan for the Gruyère.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Great! Our company liked it too. Followed the recipe except used dried parsley instead of fresh, monterey jack cheese instead of gruyere, and skipped the capers to save money. We'll make it again. I think it helps to dice (pulse a few times) the eggplant, onion and garlic in the food processor, and cook all together instead of cooking eggplant first for 1 minute, that's not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States