Aunt Eileen's Stuffed Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I'm not sure what happened with this one...I made the recipe as written but the eggplant was really hard and we had to just scoop the filling out and eat it by itself. I'm a beginner cook so not sure if the eggplant just wasn't ripe enough? We ended up throwing this out though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Good but was really dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
This was super yummy! I only gave it a four because I modified it a bit to make it more healthy. The following are what I changed: I used three medium egglplant and scooped them out as close to the skin as possible. I also used two onions, 4 big cloves garlic, around 6 tbs black olives, 1 tsp crushed red pepper flakes, 1 tbs basil, 1 1/2 tbs oregano, 1 tbs rosemary, 2 tsp italian seasoning, and 1/2 cup white wine. I left out the capers and did not sprinkle the 4 tbs olive oil on top. Now for the bread crumbs. I substituted with 1/2 c rye flour, 1/2 c wheat germ, 3/4 c barley flakes. My family didn't even know and SO much healthier! I also think I may have doubled the cheese. At the end I sprinkled parmesan on the top for a great finish. To cook, I baked shells for ten minutes at 190 C, then stuffed along with sliced tomato to bake for 15 minutes, finally topped with cheese and popped it back in for the last 5 minutes or so. I most definitely recommend this recipe:D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Loved this! It looked like something you might order at a fancy restaurant (I used one long skinny eggplant cut in half lenghtwise). I also used purple onions in the recipe and served baby greens in a side salad. There was so much color on the plate I almost didn't want to eat it! Even my steak-loving roommate loved it. Thanks for this easy and beautiful recipe, Aunt Eileen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess Ica

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I am a meat eater, but having this for dinner definitely satisfied me so much that I didn't miss meat at all. It's very filling and very good. I do think some marinara sauce to top it off might be good and other cheeses would work too like other reviewers suggested. I made it with no changes. The only thing I would say is that it certainly took me much longer than 20 min. in prep time. Try over an hr for me. I did have to make the fresh breadcrumbs, so maybe tht added time, but it just was more work than 20 min for me.... maybe I chop slowly or something. :) But it is a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This is so good it has become one of my regular dinners! One large eggplant cut in half makes a great filling meal in itself for two people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This came out delicious. We omitted the garlic for preference. The ingredients can be costly but It would be easy enough to substitute cheddar cheese and omit the capers. We also used greek olives instead of black. This recipe made 2 large eggplant. I bet the small ones would be great too for individual servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Cherry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Pretty good recipe. Not anything amazing but a good change from the usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Good Turtle
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I don't think it's eggplant season yet, so I used cucumber instead! I chilled the stuffing for a couple hours as someone else suggested, I used kalamata olives, and omitted the lemon juice and capers -- i couldn't get the jar open! It turned out great and very good-looking. My parents (for whom I made this) loved it and even suggested I may be a better cook than my older brother! Best compliment ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Good Turtle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Burlingame, California, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
This was very easy and extremely tasty! I used Asiago cheese instead - I also baked on a cooking stone. I added more garlic/onion and hot pepper. Excellent, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States