Aunt Dot's Brunswick Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Pretty good, but a bit too spicy for my liking. I think next time I'll use half as much pepper and an extra teaspoon of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
Awesome stew!!! It was simple and easy to make. I used a crock pot - and let it cook for most of the day. I added a little more salt and pepper to suit my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This recipe is a great dollar stretcher. I like to add more flavor by taking the big pot I'm going to make the stew in and frying the bacon in it, removing it to add back in later, then caramelizing the onions in the reminants. Follow the rest of the recipe as is, and when you add the potatoes to the pot make sure to get up all the good bits off the bottom of the pan with the potato water and it'll make it extra tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grove City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Clintonville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Great meal for cool evenings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Daugherty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dade City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
Perfect guy stew. It's easy and full of flavors. Salt could be an issue although it was perfect the next day and the day after that and the next day too! I used ground round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
My grandmother used to make a tomato based turkey soup the day after Thanksgiving or Christmas and this was the closest recipe I could find. The base of the recipe is good, I just made some changes to suit my tastes. Changes: Used leftover turkey from Thanksgiving. Omitted the salt, sugar, garlic salt and flour. Added 1 clove of fresh garlic. Added 1/2 tsp. of red pepper flakes. Substituted water for chicken broth. Also used fire-roasted peeled and diced tomatoes. I thought the flavor was very nice and using bacon and chicken broth was enough salt for me. My version of this stew turns out more like a very chunky soup. Yummy! Yummy! I would make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ogdensburg, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Thank you for the warnings about salt. I didn't have any turkey or beef, so we used chicken. I partially cooked the bacon in a skillet, just enough to draw out some grease, and then cooked cubed chicken in the bacon grease (yum). Because the chicken and bacon were already partially cooked, I only cooked the stew for about an hour. Turned out terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
A bit peppery for me, but this is one of those recipes that if I don't fix it, my husband will make it for himself...so it's gotta be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crownsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenni
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This was an ok base recipe, I used chicken broth instead of water & cut out the bacon & salts. Needs a little fine tuning, I'll have to make some changes next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I thought this was a really good recipe. I thought it could have used a little more spices than it had. I may try to tweek it a little next time I make it. My boyfriend totally fell in love with it. He said is was one of the best meals I've ever made him. He's happy with it, but as a cook I can taste when something needs to be added or not added. All in all it was a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DavidsGrl2014

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clover, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States