Aunt Dot's Brunswick Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
Awesome stew!!! It was simple and easy to make. I used a crock pot - and let it cook for most of the day. I added a little more salt and pepper to suit my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
Maybe this is obvious, but I found it odd that the recipe didn't instruct you to brown the turkey first. Also, I omitted the bacon, added a cup of lima beans and a dash of cayenne pepper for a better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
This recipe had an odd mixture of flavours. Also, I love salt, but even this was too much! I recommend removing the regular salt altogether, and just keeping the garlic salt. Overall, an interesting recipe, but not one I'll put into my regular meal planning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenni
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This was an ok base recipe, I used chicken broth instead of water & cut out the bacon & salts. Needs a little fine tuning, I'll have to make some changes next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
I followed others' suggestions and cut back the salt signficantly. I also made this in the crock pot, cooked on low about 7 hours, with the ingredients layered in the order listed. I would recommend decreasing the liquid if you are making this in a crock pot. Also, next time I think I will cook the bacon on the side and serve it as a topping to sprinkle over; cooked with the rest of the ingredients, I was disappointed that it did not contribute much flavor. Overall, good and my husband commented on the wealth of flavors -- will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
This recipe is basically ok, but 3 tsp. salt and especially 3 tsp. black pepper is way too much! I cut out the salt entirely and added slightly less than a tsp. of pepper, but some in my family still thought it was too spicy. Other than that, though, we enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Thank you for the warnings about salt. I didn't have any turkey or beef, so we used chicken. I partially cooked the bacon in a skillet, just enough to draw out some grease, and then cooked cubed chicken in the bacon grease (yum). Because the chicken and bacon were already partially cooked, I only cooked the stew for about an hour. Turned out terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
Great recipe. Agree with others that the salt is too much. Here's how I decided to make it. Substitute ground buffalo (bison) for the turkey. Eliminate salt alltogether (diners can add to taste). Reduce garlic salt to 2 tsp and add 1 tsp minced garlic. I also added a diced shallot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lance

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
sorry didn't like this one very much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
A bit peppery for me, but this is one of those recipes that if I don't fix it, my husband will make it for himself...so it's gotta be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crownsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States