Aunt Carol's Spinach and Fish Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
We absolutely loved this, though I did make a couple minor changes. I don't care for frozen spinach so I used fresh which I steam-fried with chopped garlic and onion just until wilted. I removed the excess moisture and proceeded with the recipe. I substituted hard Parmesan reggiano cheese for the cheddar, which I grated. It has less fat than the cheddar, is less greasy, and we love the flavor. I topped the fish with a mix of Italian bread crumbs and finely grated Parmesan, which I then sprayed with a bit of butter flavored cooking spray so it would brown and crisp nicely. It came out fabulous and my husband absolutely loved it. I've made it several times now and it will definitely stay in my recipe rotation. Thank you so much for such a delicious and healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RivertownMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Easy and good.My husband doesn't like spinach so I used winter cress from the garden and they were great.Next time I'll use spinach and not tell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Enjoyed by myself & my parents - used a combo of Aunt Carol's & the one posted. Used egg substitute instead of egg which turned out fine. Baked from 25-30 min. Overall pleased w/ dish & will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I made this recipe tonight for dinner and it was great! I did modify it slightly thought. For the fish I used orange roughy vice cod. I had 2 lbs of fish but only one frozen package of spinach. So, I mixed 1 pkg spinach (prepared according the recipe) with 1 cup grated sharp cheddar, 1/3 cup breadcrumbs, grated sea salt and fresh grated black pepper, and 2 beaten eggs. I lined the bottom of a large baking dish with this. Then, I placed the fish on top of the bed of spinach. I sprinkled fresh lime juice on the top of the fish. In a separate bowl, I mixed another 1 cup cheddar, 1/3 cup of bread crumbs, sea salt and black pepper, and covered the fish with this mixture. I baked at 325 for 30 minutes. PERFECT!!! My kids and husband loved it too. This is a nice treat for fish dish. I served with basmati rice and a side salad. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I made this for me and my fried fish loving husband and he thought this was great. I did make a few changes, I used italian breadcrumbs, walleye filets, fresh baby spinich sauted with garlic instead of frozen. I also served it in individual dishes. Great to serve to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Poynter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Belle River, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Wonderful and it is definately a keeper. I do have to admit that I did make some substitutions: used fresh parmesan instead of cheddar,less bread crumbs and catfish instead of cod baking it loner than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Love this fish recipe! I haven't had to make any changes. Cooks great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ldilalla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This was good. Mine turned out a bit dry because the cooking time listed did not work for me so, I had to keep guessing. I used Tilapia and more cheese than was called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Didnt like this dish at all. The spinach was too strong and there wasnt much flavor. I even followed Aunt Carol's actual recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States