Aunt Carol's Spinach and Fish Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
served this for a dinner co-op and got mixed reviews. I liked it a lot, but some people felt the texture of the spinach and fish was over all too "mooshy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by idagal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
First time to try this recipe and it went over wonderfully with my family. Thank you for a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jschwartz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA
Living In: Anna, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I LOVED this! As usual i read the majority of the comments before i try something new. And i agree with altering a bit. I sprayed my dish with butter flavored Pam, in a skillet i sauteed half of a large onion and 3 heaping tablespoons of garlic, as we love garlic, and a couple pinches of kosher salt with a little water and Pam olive oil and butter spray. I lightly squeezed the thawed spinach, added about 1/2 cup of monteray jack, cheddar and 1/4 c pepper jack and the rest fresh Parmesan, i pat the cod dry and used old bey fresh ground black pepper, a pinch of oregano basil, kosher salt onion powder and garlic salt on both sides like a dry rub, mixed as directed except i used 1 teaspoon seasoned breadcrumbs in the spinach and 1 for the out side. placed my fish on top and added the remainder of cheese and breadcrumbs with a little fresh chopped parsley, backed at 350 for about 35 mins as my fish was medium thick, removed foil and placed on broil for about 10 minutes the house was smelling flavorful and delish! I love the way the ingredients blended so well together, i'd never tried this kind of dish before and i am so glad i did. i truly value this website and all the comments! It did remind me of stuffing and for those who hate spinach it doesn't taste like spinach! I think think chicken breasts or breakfast chops would do well with this dish or cubed ham chunks or shrimp ontop with the fish! Thank you Aunt Carol this dish was filling, and 10 stars in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Rose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Wundermous! I was skeptical, but thoroughly enjoyed this. My kids DID eat the greens underneath, too! Second time, I upped the ante adding coarsely chopped collard/mustard greens mix, onions, mushrooms, green pepper, and broccoli...umm! I did have to cook it 40 mins plus 3 more uncovered under the broiler, though. Fat cod pieces, I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I wasn't quite sure about this one but it turned out super yummy. I used a loaf pan and layered the tilapia, spinach, cheese, then more tilapia. We topped it with lemon juice, salt and pepper. It was super yummy and we are going to make this a regular in our house!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Ahhhmazing! Pregnant and gluten free I am always looking for healthy 1 dish meals and this is it.I used gluten free bread crumbs, shredded cheddar & mozzarella mix(that's all I had) and as suggested by other reviewers I added a splash of cream, mushrooms & onions to spinach. I also drizzled butter and lemon on the fish. I had a very thick fillet so I upped the temp and cooked 35 mins. I am sure there are a million ways to play with this recipe & I can't wait to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I've made this several times this past year and its always delicious and a welcome dinner night as our house. I've always use fresh spinach (instead of the frozen)..just saute it until cooked as much as you like it in a little olive oil before assembling it with egg, etc. We use Tilapia with it...super easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Absolutely the easiest and tastiest fish ever. I admit to a splash of malt vinegar after cooking. But cod and spinach scream for it. I cooked it as written this time. Might add aleppo pepper next go...and there will be a next go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNNI_ONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States