Aunt Carol's Spinach and Fish Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
It's been in the oven for 20 minutes at 350 and it hasn't even begun to cook! I absolutely hate recipes that mislead on the cooking time because it screws me up for getting dinner on the table and that ticks me off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I loved this fish, but it did need some tweaks....mainly in terms of cooking time. Wish I had read the reviews before I started. It should have been 350 degrees.....easily.....maybe even 400 as one reviewer suggested. After 35 frustrating minutes at 325, I put it under the broiler. I also added garlic and switched feta cheese for the cheddar. Perhaps the recipe should be resubmitted with the correct time and temp. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Lackluster as written with an improper cooking time and temperature to boot. Embellishing on this quite a bit - mushrooms, shallots, garlic, white wine and cream, seasoning the fish, and increasing the oven temperature and baking time did help a great deal, but it still wasn’t something I’ll make again. Needs too many improvements – not solid as is. Moreover, this probably was the most unattractive dish I’ve ever made (hence, no photo).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I found this recipe when I was hunting for a new way to fix fish that was not just baked, but still low in carbs as I am diabetic,so cannot eat much battered or breaded fish. This really has become my new favorite way to make fish. I found that the spinach mixture makes a great stuffing for braciole also. I am so happy I found this. Thanks for a new way to eat fish. I too, found that 350 degrees for 30 minutes works out much better as I like my fish really well done. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I read everyone else's reviews and tweaked it a little bit, therefore I'm giving it four stars. It was absolutely delicious though! I added a little bit of lemon juice and salt and pepper to the fish before placing it in the baking pan; However, I do wish I added more or let the cod sit in the lemon juice for a little bit because some lemon-pepper taste to the cod would have made it perfect. Adding some minced garlic and parmesan would be wonderful too. My boyfriend isn't a huge fan of white fish but quite enjoyed this dish. ESPECIALLY the spinach. He polished off that (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I used Swai filets and followed the recipe as directed. I did bake at 350 for 30 minutes, however I found the spinach mixture to be flavorless. I will definitely spice it up with sautéed onions and maybe some Parmesan cheese. Will try it again with some alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Very good but definitely needs to be tweaked. Read the other reviews to see what inspires you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I also use fresh spinach with an Italian twist. I saute fresh garlic with extra virgin olive oil just for a few seconds to bring out the favor. I add a full bag of fresh prewashed baby spinach all at once and pour in about 1/2 cup or so of white wine, the best to cook with is Sauvignon Blanc. Once the spinach is wilted, I continue with the receipt and found that 350 degrees is much better. I make this at least twice a month and have passed it along to friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dablacks77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This was pretty good but in my opinion some salt in the spinach mixture would have helped a lot. Next time I will also add a bit of oil or melted butter to the topping because the cheese and the crumbs on their own do not blend well. I will make it again with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
The whole family liked this recipe. Made a few changes, fresh spinach chopped, homemade bread crumbs, perch, sprinkled a little lemon juice on perch before bread crumbs and cheese. Used reg. cheddar, motz and jack cheeses. After serving, sprinkled a little parm, romao and Asiago to finish setting it off. I'm definitely going to use this recipe again as well as mess around w/what I put in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galt, California, USA
Living In: Wilton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States