Aunt Carol's Spinach and Fish Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Thanks to my niece, Liz, this recipe has been enjoyed by many. The original recipe is called Cheddar Fish Florentine. It calls for 1 C shredded sharp cheddar, 2 Tbls dry bread crumbs, 1/4 tsp dried and crushed tarragon leaves, 1 10oz pkg chopped spinach thawed and well drained, 1/2 lb fish fillets. Combine cheese, crumbs and tarragon, reserve 1/4 C for topping. Mix with spinach. Spread this into baking dish, top with fish, sprinkle on remaining cheese mixture. Bake 450 15 to 20 minutes. Two servings. I love all the variations. I myself added an egg to make the spinach more like a souffle. Of course, I rate it 5 stars! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I will admit that I made some drastic changes in this recipe but I had to use what I had on hand! I did not have any cheddar cheese so I used real parmesan (not the green can kind). I did not have frozen spinach so I used a bag of fresh that I sautéed with a small chopped onion and 2 chopped garlic cloves. I used Italian breadcrumbs instead of plain. Even with these changes, this fish was yummy and a big hit with the family. I may try it the “real” way one day but I liked this way just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by I'm Not Stupid, I Know Tings
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
I make this recipe about once a week and we love it here! However, I have made several key changes so that's why I'm rating this 4 stars -- Firstly, I set the oven at 400 degrees. Since I use frozen cod, I end up cooking these much longer as well. I place each cod into small au gratin dishes (sprayed with Pam) for individual servings; squeeze fresh lemon juice, sea salt & freshly ground pepper over each; top each with mixture of fresh baby spinach (cut up), 1 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese, 1 beaten egg, and crushed saltine crackers instead of dry breadcrumbs; cover each dish with foil. I found that roasted new potatoes go very well with this fish ~AND~ the best part is they can roast in a seperate pan right along with the fish! For that, I toss the potatoes in a pan with 1 tablespoon of olive oil; little salt & pepper and throw the pan in the oven next to the fish. They're ready when nicely browned. Serve it up with steamed baby carrots--how healthy is that?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
We absolutely loved this, though I did make a couple minor changes. I don't care for frozen spinach so I used fresh which I steam-fried with chopped garlic and onion just until wilted. I removed the excess moisture and proceeded with the recipe. I substituted hard Parmesan reggiano cheese for the cheddar, which I grated. It has less fat than the cheddar, is less greasy, and we love the flavor. I topped the fish with a mix of Italian bread crumbs and finely grated Parmesan, which I then sprayed with a bit of butter flavored cooking spray so it would brown and crisp nicely. It came out fabulous and my husband absolutely loved it. I've made it several times now and it will definitely stay in my recipe rotation. Thank you so much for such a delicious and healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RivertownMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
I thought it was very tasty,but needed a few tweak's.Cooking time needs to be 35 minutes @ 350 degrees,add some cream to the spinach,shred the cheese,splash the fillets with some butter and serve with fresh squeezed lemon juice,I would make this dish again,a nice change for a fish dish...............
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Howard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dingmans Ferry, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
What a delicious recipe which begs to be tweaked. We added 2 minced cloves of garlic, grated parmesan, basil, and a bit of dried mint to the bread crumb/spinach mix. We then grated some 5 year old cheddar over the mix in the baking dish, added the cod and repeated the process. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
This recipe tasted great, especially with a few additions. I put the fish in lemon juice for half an hour to add that lemon-fish taste. With the spinach mix I added mushrooms and onions. With the cheese I doubled that amount. I will make this again real soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
The temperature and cook time is way low for this recipe - I gave it 30 mins at 350 degrees, and it was certainly not overcooked. That said, this is a really great combination of flavors, and is quite unique. I didn't add anything to the recipe and made just as stated - it was just fine, what some might consider "bland" but I thought it enhanced the cod and cheddar flavors nicely. The spinach mix was quite good, but if you're trying to disguise the flavor for spinach-haters, more customization would be needed (extra cheese, extra egg, etc.). All in all this was a really nice and quick fish dinner - thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I was very impressed with this dish. I did have to make a few adjustments, I didn't have frozen spinach on hand, but I did have fresh. As well I didn't have bread crumbs, but I did have some multigrain bread that I tore apart. I also added a few splashes of lemon juice to the fish. I wasn't sure how it was going to turn out, but both me and my boyfriend loved it. I'll be making this again with some of the suggested variations for sure. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
This recipe is super easy and so good!! I season my fish with lemon pepper before it bakes, and the flavor with the cheese and bread crumbs is delicious!! this is a family favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Workman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States