Aunt Carol's Spinach and Fish Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
Bland. It was not good. The spinach was dry and the fish was bland. I may have messed up when I used 2% fat cheese, but regardless of the cheese, it was still not that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This is a quick & easy recipe that tastes good. I used fresh spinach seasoned with garlic & salt. I also like to remove the foil for the last 5 minutes or so of the baking time to give the top a little color. I have also made this recipe with thin-sliced chicken breasts, and it came out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimz11

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This is it! I have been searching recipes online for a while but never bothered to sign up until I tried this particular recipe. I had to say THANK YOU! My son isn't pleased about eating fish or spinach, and complained until his first bite, and then I didn't hear a peep until his plate was clean. :) I added an extra egg and used chopped up American cheese slices instead of cheddar. I used Italian breadcrumbs and sprinkled a bit of lemon juice on the fish before I seasoned it. I covered the fish with a few tablespoons of Parmesan cheese before I baked it for 35 min at 375. I had everything I needed. This is my kind of recipe. My husband called the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
OMG! So easy and so good. Baked in two separate dishes for kids and parents and was amazing. Kids had cod and we had seabass! Mixed fish topping with breadcrumbs mixture of cheese, salt and pepper and poured melted butter on top. Kids ate every bit and asked for more! YEAH! Husband ususally complains about my fish dishes but loved this one! Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyto3

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This recipe was easy and great. Only changes I made were 2 eggs to spinach and Panko bread crumbs mixed with regular ones. I did not add any cheese to the topping but instead put very little butter on top of bread crumb covering. LOVED IT! (Cooked it for 35 minutes @ 330 degrees.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Made this dish tonight following the recipe exactly, and after 20 minutes at 325 it was nowhere near done. I put it in for another 5 minutes, then another 10 minutes at 375, then uncovered for an additional 10 minutes before serving it. Upon reading other reviews it appears only 1/2 lb of fish should have been used as opposed to the lb called for in the original recipe. My husband enjoyed it so I will try it again with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I thought this recipe was really good and easy to make, they didn't specify the size of baking dish besides small and when I made it was in the oven for 40min before the fish was cooked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oliver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This was so simple and quick. I used parm cheese instead of cheddar because I had some in the fridge. THe spinach cooked just right and the flavors were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly, except for using fresh spinach, and found this terribly bland. I think if I ever made it again I'd saute an onion and some garlic with the spinach, and add more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sagamihara, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
We absolutely loved this, though I did make a couple minor changes. I don't care for frozen spinach so I used fresh which I steam-fried with chopped garlic and onion just until wilted. I removed the excess moisture and proceeded with the recipe. I substituted hard Parmesan reggiano cheese for the cheddar, which I grated. It has less fat than the cheddar, is less greasy, and we love the flavor. I topped the fish with a mix of Italian bread crumbs and finely grated Parmesan, which I then sprayed with a bit of butter flavored cooking spray so it would brown and crisp nicely. It came out fabulous and my husband absolutely loved it. I've made it several times now and it will definitely stay in my recipe rotation. Thank you so much for such a delicious and healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RivertownMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lafayette, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States