Aunt Carol's Spinach and Fish Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I thought the fish was good, but wasn't crazy about the spinach. And I like spinach! It just seemed to take on a funny texture, not quite sure if it was due to something I did, but I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
It was just okay. Too spinichy. Upon recommendations of other reviewers, I added a lot of my own seasonings and I marinated the fish prior to baking. Had I not done these modifications I think it would have been much too bland. I also needed to bake it longer than the specified 20 minutes. I don't think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This was so-so for us we really are not fans of cod but I thought we would try something other than salmon. Cod is a basic white fish with not too much flavor, even though I added spices. The spinach was wonderful and the cheese is what made the dish, In the future I will try a different fish even talapia is better for us than cod.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Valley, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This was great! I used tilapia & cooked at 350 for 35 minutes. Turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I guess I should have had Aunt Carol make this first, it didn't work for us at all. I added lemon juice, Old Bay and some lemon pepper to the fish and it baked very nicely, but the spinach layer didn't have any flavor even after I added garlic, minced onion, salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Great recipe with a few modifications. I added Feta cheese to the spinach mixture as well as the breadcrumbs mixture. I also added Garlic powder to the spinach mixture to add taste. For the breadcrumbs, I buttered Whole Wheat bread and added garlic powder, toasted them in the oven until well toasted and crumbled them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
was okay, but we expected better after reading the reviews. We used fresh spinach and added onion & garlic, some extra cheese. I thought iwas heavy and rather bland. probably will not make this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hampden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Just made this-used panko & butter-also added a little fresh grated nutmeg to my sauteed fresh baby spinah, garlic & onions. Cooked this in oven uncovered. It is absolutely fabulous!! Had fresh cod from Tacoma Wa & must say this recipe rocks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Young

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I could not rate this any less! I was impressed with the result. I've never done fish with spinach and cheese, and am excited with the new combination. I used bran instead of bread crumbs, and chopped fresh baby spinach instead of frozen. Skipped the pepper. Wonderful as is...not sure if I would even add onion or garlic because it has such an exquisite flavour already. My 1 year old son, who is teething and not eating much, ate his share (mixed with rice), and then kept asking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Wilkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States