Aunt Carol's Spinach and Fish Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
It's been in the oven for 20 minutes at 350 and it hasn't even begun to cook! I absolutely hate recipes that mislead on the cooking time because it screws me up for getting dinner on the table and that ticks me off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I loved this fish, but it did need some tweaks....mainly in terms of cooking time. Wish I had read the reviews before I started. It should have been 350 degrees.....easily.....maybe even 400 as one reviewer suggested. After 35 frustrating minutes at 325, I put it under the broiler. I also added garlic and switched feta cheese for the cheddar. Perhaps the recipe should be resubmitted with the correct time and temp. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Lackluster as written with an improper cooking time and temperature to boot. Embellishing on this quite a bit - mushrooms, shallots, garlic, white wine and cream, seasoning the fish, and increasing the oven temperature and baking time did help a great deal, but it still wasn’t something I’ll make again. Needs too many improvements – not solid as is. Moreover, this probably was the most unattractive dish I’ve ever made (hence, no photo).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I found this recipe when I was hunting for a new way to fix fish that was not just baked, but still low in carbs as I am diabetic,so cannot eat much battered or breaded fish. This really has become my new favorite way to make fish. I found that the spinach mixture makes a great stuffing for braciole also. I am so happy I found this. Thanks for a new way to eat fish. I too, found that 350 degrees for 30 minutes works out much better as I like my fish really well done. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I read everyone else's reviews and tweaked it a little bit, therefore I'm giving it four stars. It was absolutely delicious though! I added a little bit of lemon juice and salt and pepper to the fish before placing it in the baking pan; However, I do wish I added more or let the cod sit in the lemon juice for a little bit because some lemon-pepper taste to the cod would have made it perfect. Adding some minced garlic and parmesan would be wonderful too. My boyfriend isn't a huge fan of white fish but quite enjoyed this dish. ESPECIALLY the spinach. He polished off that (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I used Swai filets and followed the recipe as directed. I did bake at 350 for 30 minutes, however I found the spinach mixture to be flavorless. I will definitely spice it up with sautéed onions and maybe some Parmesan cheese. Will try it again with some alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Very good but definitely needs to be tweaked. Read the other reviews to see what inspires you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I also use fresh spinach with an Italian twist. I saute fresh garlic with extra virgin olive oil just for a few seconds to bring out the favor. I add a full bag of fresh prewashed baby spinach all at once and pour in about 1/2 cup or so of white wine, the best to cook with is Sauvignon Blanc. Once the spinach is wilted, I continue with the receipt and found that 350 degrees is much better. I make this at least twice a month and have passed it along to friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dablacks77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This was pretty good but in my opinion some salt in the spinach mixture would have helped a lot. Next time I will also add a bit of oil or melted butter to the topping because the cheese and the crumbs on their own do not blend well. I will make it again with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
The whole family liked this recipe. Made a few changes, fresh spinach chopped, homemade bread crumbs, perch, sprinkled a little lemon juice on perch before bread crumbs and cheese. Used reg. cheddar, motz and jack cheeses. After serving, sprinkled a little parm, romao and Asiago to finish setting it off. I'm definitely going to use this recipe again as well as mess around w/what I put in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galt, California, USA
Living In: Wilton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States