Aunt Carol's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2005
This was a great apple pie. I made it for Easter & everyone enjoyed it. I used regular brown sugar & had no problem. Will make this again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
my in laws and husband are very picky when it comes to apple pie holding the highest standard "Grandma's" and the pie I made me (using this receipe) honorary apple pie-maker for family events forver, now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
I use 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. I usually sprinkle white sugar on the top crust rather than brown. Depending on how juicy the apples are 1/2 cup flour might be just right or it could be a bit much, but I hate a watery pie, so I normally do use that much flour just to be sure. It is better to determine doneness by whether the juices have started to boil instead of the crust color. If it isn't boiling yet and the crust is getting too brown, put foil strips over the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2006
Every one in my entire family loves it. It has been compared to the legendary family GRANDMA'S Apple pie. It is actually requested for family gatherings. Great job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
I LOVED this pie, so did my husband and he is very picky about his apple pie. I ended up using 8 cups of apples sliced about 1/8 inch thick. It was wonderful! Not too sweet, set up nicely, just perfect, thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
This is my very first apple pie, i even made my crust from scratch. My husband loved it, he even took a little to work with him. Thank you. I was really proud of myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nay nay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Soddy Daisy, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
This is a great recipe. I usually use Gala apples and then eliminate some of the sugar from the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
I LOVED THIS PIE!!! it was soooo good. everyone loved it! i mixed red delicious and granny smith apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
My husband LOVES apple pie and he loved this recipe. He said it was better than Mrs. Smith. I took it to a party and even the people that don't like apple pie loved it. I added a little more cinnamon and brown sugar to make it extra sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
It was very sweet and mouth watering. I would definatly use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States