Aunt Carol's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This was my first apple pie ever. It was absolutely perfect, followed it exactly (my teenage son made the filling EASY PEASY!!!! and I made the crust ~ ) it was very simple and it tastes amazing. Perfect sweetness/tartness!!!! So good served warm with some real vanilla ice cream. THANKS :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runsanity

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
My first apple pie! I used 3 Granny Smith and 5 McIntosh, 3/4c white sugar, and 1/4 brown and it had just the right sweetness. Follow the recipe if using all Granny since they are so tart. The McIntosh gave it a little natural sweetness, and since they are very firm, did not get mushy. This is my go to apple pie recipe! Can't wait to make for Thanksgiving. I also used the Good Housekeeping pie crust recipe--it is very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This was awesome! And not real hard to prepare. I saved time with store bought pastry. It disappeared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
The most delicious and homey apple pie ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I have been making this pie according to Aunt Carol for 9 years or so and I thought it's about time to give it a rating. I have been able to make excellent pie dough for many years, but the apple filling in this pie is the very best. My brother-in-law has cautioned me so many times about arriving to their home without an apple pie and risking being locked out of the house. ;o) I will continue to make this recipe as written and I thank Jo Ann Taylor and Aunt Carol for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
i loved this pie and so did my family i'm 15 and i made it for thanksgiving and it turned out great i bought the dough to go over the top and i 1/2 the recipe but other than that i din't change a thing i give it a thumbs up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janice Phelps Williams
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
This pie was delicious! I substituted Spectrum organic shortening (0 trans fat) in the crust. I used light brown sugar as I couldn't find the brown sugar specified in the recipe. But it came out perfectly. It didn't overflow into the oven either. I also brushed egg white on the top crust, then sprinkled with sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice Phelps Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Harbor Springs, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
This is the best apple pie. I add a little nutmeg and vanilla also, which make it even better. I now get requests to bring apple pie to every party, the family loves it! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
Every one in my entire family loves it. It has been compared to the legendary family GRANDMA'S Apple pie. It is actually requested for family gatherings. Great job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
My husband LOVES apple pie and he loved this recipe. He said it was better than Mrs. Smith. I took it to a party and even the people that don't like apple pie loved it. I added a little more cinnamon and brown sugar to make it extra sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States