Aunt Carol's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Wonderful! Tried many recipes, made many pies and finally this is a keeper. Made my own crust. My Dad LOVED it and my husband ate it for breakfast! WOOOOOOOO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Excellent recipe for traditional apple pie. I added about 1/4 tsp. of nutmeg with the cinnamon. I added a bit less flour than called for and it was plenty - not runny at all. I got my apples at the farmers market and based on the recommendation of the apple guy found a fantastic pie apple called "Mutsu". I will definitely look for them again next time. They are big and meaty, not too sweet or too tart, just perfect and they bake up really well. I also threw in a couple Granny Smiths.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This apple pie was a bit too sweet for me but was a hit with my 9 year old son. I think I will eliminate the brown sugar the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Overall a great pie! Although I will reduce the amount of cinamon next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by toni lee
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I have not made an apple pie in years but decided to do so today because I wanted to use up some McIntosh apples before they went bad. I previously used my mother's apple pie recipe, which wasn't great (not an Italian specialty-smile). OMG!!! When I cut into this pie, I couldn't believe it! Could not believe that I made this pie! I used the Pillsbury Refrigerated Rolled Pie Crust (delicious) and followed the recipe to a near "t" with the following changes: I added 1/2 tsp of fresh grated nutmeg and 1 tsp of vanilla to the apple mixture, I baked the pie at 450 degrees for 15 minutes then 350 degrees for 55 minutes. Pie came out PERFECTLY!!!! Not too sweet, not gooey, not too wet or too dry, perfect mixture of sweet and spicy, tender & tasty apples, perfect crust! Absolutely wonderful! Can't wait for my dear husband to taste this tonight! Will definitely be making this pie again and again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toni lee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Belleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BOERMANCM
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This was excellent! It is somewhat healthier than the Grandma Ople apple pie (much less butter) but still forms a delicious syrup in the pie filling. The only modification I made to the recipe was to add a splash of vanilla. I made it with the "Pie Crust IV" recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grapevine, Texas, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I've made this several times and it is such a great pie. I use 1 cup splenda instead of sugar. No one can tell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TORIJO1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Amazing! Took me back to my younger days of pie making with my grandmother!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AxMoExLoIxA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebourne, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Glasgow, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I made this for two Fourth of July cookouts - because what's more American than apple pie on the Fourth? I made three pies total all with Pillsbury's pie crust, which really is the best! It turned out very well for two of the pies and was phenomenal for the third pie when I added 1/2 a jar of Smucker's caramel ice cream topping and a package of walnuts. My husband polished it off within 24 hours! The other pies were a hit at both cookouts and now I have requests for more! The hardest part is the peeling and cutting with the apples - you're in the home stretch after that! Five star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Way to go, Aunt Carol! The only change I made was to substitute honey for the white sugar in the pie. Everyone raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Crumble Pie

This fresh apple crumble pie is delicious and as easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States