Aunt Carol's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
The best apple pie I have ever made or eaten. Simply delicious! I will never use another recipe for apple pie ever again. You will not be disappointed!! I used french pastry pie crust from this site and it was amazing. I never use store bought crust anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Amazingly good recipe. I recently lost the recipe for apple pie that I have been using for years, and was looking for a new one. This is now my new apple pie recipe! I was hurried, the kids were running around and getting in the way, and I forgot the cinnamon but it was still amazing! Thanks for sharing this one, I appreciate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KALISTA1
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This was a wonderful pie! My husband had two pieces in an hour. I really enjoyed it as well. I did forget the butter but I don't think it needed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KALISTA1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Ayr, Iowa, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Wonderful! Tried many recipes, made many pies and finally this is a keeper. Made my own crust. My Dad LOVED it and my husband ate it for breakfast! WOOOOOOOO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Excellent recipe for traditional apple pie. I added about 1/4 tsp. of nutmeg with the cinnamon. I added a bit less flour than called for and it was plenty - not runny at all. I got my apples at the farmers market and based on the recommendation of the apple guy found a fantastic pie apple called "Mutsu". I will definitely look for them again next time. They are big and meaty, not too sweet or too tart, just perfect and they bake up really well. I also threw in a couple Granny Smiths.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This apple pie was a bit too sweet for me but was a hit with my 9 year old son. I think I will eliminate the brown sugar the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Overall a great pie! Although I will reduce the amount of cinamon next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by toni lee
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I have not made an apple pie in years but decided to do so today because I wanted to use up some McIntosh apples before they went bad. I previously used my mother's apple pie recipe, which wasn't great (not an Italian specialty-smile). OMG!!! When I cut into this pie, I couldn't believe it! Could not believe that I made this pie! I used the Pillsbury Refrigerated Rolled Pie Crust (delicious) and followed the recipe to a near "t" with the following changes: I added 1/2 tsp of fresh grated nutmeg and 1 tsp of vanilla to the apple mixture, I baked the pie at 450 degrees for 15 minutes then 350 degrees for 55 minutes. Pie came out PERFECTLY!!!! Not too sweet, not gooey, not too wet or too dry, perfect mixture of sweet and spicy, tender & tasty apples, perfect crust! Absolutely wonderful! Can't wait for my dear husband to taste this tonight! Will definitely be making this pie again and again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toni lee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Belleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BOERMANCM
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This was excellent! It is somewhat healthier than the Grandma Ople apple pie (much less butter) but still forms a delicious syrup in the pie filling. The only modification I made to the recipe was to add a splash of vanilla. I made it with the "Pie Crust IV" recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grapevine, Texas, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I've made this several times and it is such a great pie. I use 1 cup splenda instead of sugar. No one can tell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TORIJO1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States