Aunt Carol's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This is the best apple pie I've ever eaten. I'm a novice baker in general, and this is the first pie I've ever made from scratch (not including the refrigerated pie crust), but the recipe was simple, easy, and turned out amazingly good even for me! I followed the recipe exactly as written and the filling was thick and had the perfect amount of sugar, not too sweet. It didn't take too long to make especially with using a mandolin to slice the apples. I will never buy a premade apple pie at the supermarket ever again, I'd rather make this recipe myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
DELICIOUS APPLE PIE - the best! I made this pie the other day because I had some apples lying around that were going to go bad real soon. It was a mix of Gala and Granny Smith apples. Well, I made this recipe and WOW! The pie was amazing! It tastes even better with the Basic Flaky Pie Crust recipe submitted by Stephanie that is found on this site. Try it! You'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Amazing Pie! I followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfect! I will definitely be holding onto this recipe!! Can't wait to make it for the holidays this year and amaze my family...if I can make this pie come out perfect anyone can!! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I'm not a huge fruit pie fan, but my boyfriend says this one deserves 5 stars. I used Jonathan apples, half the amount of white sugar and made my own crust using Veggie Pie Crust on this site. I made a lattice design on top with some stars to make it fancy looking. I loved eating the few leftover apples that didn't fit in the pie that were smothered in cinnamon & sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMLIZARD
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This pie was a breeze to make. I used refrigerated pie crusts and apples of "unknown species". My brother got them from someone he knows. They were smallish, red and yellow, frangrant, and slightly mealy textured rather than hard and woody like a Delicious would be. He just told me they were "cooking apples". The sauce for this pie is abundant, almost too loose but that's easily remedied next time around. The point is that this is good enough that there WILL be a next time around! Flavor is excellent! Thanks for a very nice recipe that anyone could master. ~ My photo of this recipe is # 11~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMLIZARD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This rating is for the filling only. It was fine, but definitely not the "10" I am looking for. Seemed awfully pasty and a little flat. It's GOOD, don't get me wrong, but not FABULOUS, and that's what I am looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
OMG! E-Z, perfectly delicious pie! As another suggested, I set the oven to 425 and cook for about 12 min at the beginning (instead of the 450 for 15 min.) Then 350 for 45 min as written, the crust was perfect, no burning. I also used 1/2 the brown sugar because I thought it would be too sweet. I also added the juice of 1 lemon. It turns out either way, would have been fine. It's a GREAT recipe, thanks Aunt Carol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BevKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hueneme, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I took this to a bbq and it was devoured in a snap!! Everyone loved it and I will be sure to make this again! The only changes I made were that I used Braeburn apples (I don't like granny smith apples) and as per other reviews I only used 1/2 the amount of cinnamon called for. The sugar crust was everyone's favorite. thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
The best apple pie I have ever made or eaten. Simply delicious! I will never use another recipe for apple pie ever again. You will not be disappointed!! I used french pastry pie crust from this site and it was amazing. I never use store bought crust anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Amazingly good recipe. I recently lost the recipe for apple pie that I have been using for years, and was looking for a new one. This is now my new apple pie recipe! I was hurried, the kids were running around and getting in the way, and I forgot the cinnamon but it was still amazing! Thanks for sharing this one, I appreciate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Crumble Pie

This fresh apple crumble pie is delicious and as easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States