Aunt Carol's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by FoOd FrEnZy88
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This recipe was GREAT! It was so easy to make and it tasted amazing! I had never made a pie before and I was a little concerned about my pie being runny, so after I sliced up the apples, I tossed them in a little bit of flour to coat them, to ensure that the sugar wouldn't pull too much liquid out of them. I used 7 granny smith and 2 macintosh apples because I figured the granny smith would be nice and tart, and the macintosh would be more juicy. I also lined the crust with tin foil since I don't own a pie shield, and I put a piece of tin foil on the rack directly above the pie so that it had less chance of burning and the color was golden brown. I finished off the lattice with an egg wash and cinnamon sugar. My husband, brother-in-law and I gobbled up big pieces with vanilla ice cream, and everyone loved it. Thank you so much for such an easy and delicious recipe! Aunt Carol will be making an appearance again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoOd FrEnZy88

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This was way too sweet! Will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEANNO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buhl, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dawn Larrabee
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
i just made this pie i also used a hot water crust recipe from this site the only change i made was i used half the white sugar and added a tsp of nutmeg it smells so good right now i cant wait till it comes out i also used an egg wash on the crust instead of water and sprinkled a little sugar i will send the after pic soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Larrabee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
i used this recipe to bake my first apple pie and it was a huge success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This was one of the best pies I have ever had. It was really easy too, I don't think I will buy store pies anymore with this easy recipe! My eleven year old son basically made it with my help, even the lattice crust. It was a big hit at Thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BobiShort
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Oh. My. Goodness. This was absolutely delicious!!! I made mine with 3lbs of granny smith apples, since I have a super jumbo pie pan, and it turned out fantastic. Best apple pie ever, hands down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BobiShort
Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I never made an apple pie before and will never use a different recipe ever again! I thought my grandmother came down from heaven and baked me her fantastic apple pie! Fabulous. I used Freedom apples since I had a bushel. Other than that I stuck to the recipe and it was absolutely perfect! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debbypa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Loved it! It was so delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This has been my family's favorite ever since I found this recipe!! Its turned intoa tradition, and made everyone think I'm the best cook ever(: haha Family members ask me to make it as their birthday present. ITS AMAZING :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
this pie was okay. I only gave it 2 stars because it was SO sweet. I don't like my apple pie that sweet. I wish I had thought to cut down on the amount of sugar but since the reviews were so good I stuck to the recipe. I used a variety of different apples (we had gone apple picking) so maybe they were sweeter as well so less sugar could have been used. Eh...I won't make this pie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States