Aunt Blanche's Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I have been searching for years for a nice, sweet blueberry muffin recipe, and now I found it! I used frozen blueberries as that is what I had on hand, and also added 1 teaspoon of vanilla to batter. Otherwise, followed exactly. Next time I want blueberry muffins, I will look no further than this recipe. Definitely a keeper, and I am so glad I found it! Thanks, Bevy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wolfe City, Texas, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
These are excellent! My husband couldn't believe that they were from scratch. I did alter them a little bit. I only put 1 cup of sugar in the batter, I only used 1/4 cup butter and added about 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce. I also sprinkled them with sparkling sugar before putting them in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I made these with strawberries and blueberries, and added some vanilla. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Just whipped up a batch of these yummy muffins! Kitchen smells great. This was simple to put together and the muffins are delicious. I ended up with 16 muffins, having filled the muffin cups nearly to the top. EDIT: I hate to say it, but these aren't so hot on day two. They are great if you expect the batch to be consumed right away, but if not they don't hold up well. On day two, the texture wasn't muffin-like at all and they seemed less flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I used Sugar in the Raw instead of white sugar. It gave them a great color and a delicious texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberlyileah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Pretty basic blueberry muffin. I used whole wheat flour and cut the sugar back to 3/4 cup. I think I might have overcompensated by adding more sour milk than I needed because my muffins turned out a little wet. I'll try these again and see what happens the second time. Though wet, they turned out nicely. Before baking, I sprinkled just a touch of white sugar over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
wonderful texture & flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Made these last nite so we'd have a quick breakfast before school. They were wonderful! Did add a little vanilla and some cinnamon and sprinkled the tops with a little extra sugar/cinnamon. They were very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ky Borgstadt
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Wonderful and easy! Vanilla does improve it but it does stand on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ky Borgstadt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Aunt Blanche is a GENIUS. I made these this morning, and while I can see the argument for adding a bit of vanilla, I went ahead and just followed the recipe...and they are DELICIOUS. And so incredibly easy! I've saved this recipe now, and will be using it as my go-to recipe for All Things Muffin. Thank you, Aunt Blanche, for making breakfast taste so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama BW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States