Aunt Bill's Brown Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
I have had this same recipe for years and everyone loves it. To the person who prefers "caramel," it does taste similar, but it does not have the consistency of caramel and is much richer and tastier if made correctly. It is a "two-person" candy, with the "pourer" being the stronger of the two. It is well worth the effort. You should try it at least once! You'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
old old recipe. The girls/ladies in our family get together between Thanksgiving and Christmas to make this candy. It's a team effort - but WELL worth it!!! Fun family memories we're making too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This has been a traditional Christmas candy in our family for several generations. Our recipe is slightly different, but old enough that the sugar is measured in pints, etc. Still, the recipe is essentially the same. Whenever we take this candy to work or to a party we are constantly requested to share the recipe. It is ALWAYS as hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Esbon, Kansas, USA
Living In: Great Bend, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
We made this every year for Christmas and gave it to neighbors along with fudge and divinity (no cookies in our house!) I too, thought Aunt Bill was a relative. My mom got it from her mother-in-law in the 40's, so I imagine this recipe is quite old. I've tasted something similar in Texas-it was a Mexican candy-but wasn't as rich as the Brown Candy. And when we made it growing up- we cracked the pecans by hand-saving the perfect halves for the divinity and the pieces for the brown candy and the fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stuart, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This is a recipe from my childhood many years ago in Oklahoma. My grandmother (an original OK homesteader) made it and gave the recipe to my mother. She always made 2 batches. The first she hid where us kids could find it and the second she hid really good to have for Christmas, Brings back many fond memories. Jlpfield Indiana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I love this recipe, my grandma made them every Christmas when I was a kid, now I make them with my kids. Grandma always made them by hersef without a problem, but I like to have another person help me. These are firmer and have a different texture than caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
How exciting to see this recipe! My Oklahoma grandmothers made this every Christmas and it is wonderful but difficult to make. Patience and a heavy pan seem to help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This is almost identical to my Aunt Echo's caramel fudge recipe which is very old. It's delicious and not difficult if you know how to carmelize sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I would rate this more than 5 Stars if I could. This recipe is absolutely worth the extra time and effort. My grandmother made this for years when I was a kid. Now that she is gone, I am continuing the tradition. I usually have to do one batch with nuts and one without! I also used to think Aunt Bill was a relative that I never got to meet!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
This candy recipe was first published in December 1936 in The Daily Oklahoman in Aunt Susan's food column. My grandmother made it for my father when he was a boy, and it is still his favorite candy to this day. It is a favorite candy of most members of my family, in-laws included! No, it's not caramel. The best way I can describe it is to call it caramel fudge, but then there is bound to be somebody who thinks it should be chocolaty too if I say 'fudge'. I make very good fudge, and the year I included this with my fudge, NOBODY ate the regular fudge, and my my brother in law BEGGED me to make him some more Aunt Bill's just for him! Does anybody know an easier way to beat the sheen out of it? It kills my elbow, and I don't have a heavy duty mixer. Is there a mixer heavy duty enough to do this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Mitchell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States