Aunt Bill's Brown Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
We have been making this candy for years and I have yet to meet a single person that didn't simply love it. I am asked every year to make it from Thanksgiving through New Years and beyond. BEST HOMEMADE CANDY EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Henryetta, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I've made this batch in double with success. The trick is to not get in a hurry and have help in the kitchen. I use stainless cookware and utensils, I tend to break wooden spoons too easily. Use a large sauce pan, when you add the soda the volume of the candy will easily double. I also put a cookie sheet on top of the stove to move the sauce pan to. This way if Mt. Vesuvius becomes a reenactment on my stove the clean up is simple. Use unsalted butter. Tag team stirring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
As other people have stated, I always thought that "Aunt Bill" was a relative that my Grandmother got this recipe from!! My family has discovered the trick to beating the mixture for the 15 minutes to get the sheen out . . . use an Electric Power Drill!! Yes your husband's drill. Insert your wooden spoon into the end of the drill and have it do the work for you! Trust me, I've even heard this same trick from a friends grandmother and she does the same thing and has been for almost 2 decades. Favorite Candy of All Time!! P.S. It freezes REALLY well and lasts for months that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blanchard, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
One of my all-time favorite Christmas candies. Granny would include these in her gift boxes (read: former bluebonnet fruitcake tins) to all of the grandkids. The Aunt Bill's were always the first to go. So good. Karen, thank you for sharing this. I make it every year now and the reviews are always fantastic. To those that say "it's caramel": caramel wishes it was this good. I use two cast iron pans, one a skillet and the other a dutch oven (no legs) to prepare this wonderful candy. Jack
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef_jack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This is a recipe from my childhood many years ago in Oklahoma. My grandmother (an original OK homesteader) made it and gave the recipe to my mother. She always made 2 batches. The first she hid where us kids could find it and the second she hid really good to have for Christmas, Brings back many fond memories. Jlpfield Indiana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This is almost identical to my Aunt Echo's caramel fudge recipe which is very old. It's delicious and not difficult if you know how to carmelize sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
How exciting to see this recipe! My Oklahoma grandmothers made this every Christmas and it is wonderful but difficult to make. Patience and a heavy pan seem to help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
old old recipe. The girls/ladies in our family get together between Thanksgiving and Christmas to make this candy. It's a team effort - but WELL worth it!!! Fun family memories we're making too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
This candy recipe was first published in December 1936 in The Daily Oklahoman in Aunt Susan's food column. My grandmother made it for my father when he was a boy, and it is still his favorite candy to this day. It is a favorite candy of most members of my family, in-laws included! No, it's not caramel. The best way I can describe it is to call it caramel fudge, but then there is bound to be somebody who thinks it should be chocolaty too if I say 'fudge'. I make very good fudge, and the year I included this with my fudge, NOBODY ate the regular fudge, and my my brother in law BEGGED me to make him some more Aunt Bill's just for him! Does anybody know an easier way to beat the sheen out of it? It kills my elbow, and I don't have a heavy duty mixer. Is there a mixer heavy duty enough to do this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Mitchell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I would rate this more than 5 Stars if I could. This recipe is absolutely worth the extra time and effort. My grandmother made this for years when I was a kid. Now that she is gone, I am continuing the tradition. I usually have to do one batch with nuts and one without! I also used to think Aunt Bill was a relative that I never got to meet!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States