Aunt Bill's Brown Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
This candy recipe was first published in December 1936 in The Daily Oklahoman in Aunt Susan's food column. My grandmother made it for my father when he was a boy, and it is still his favorite candy to this day. It is a favorite candy of most members of my family, in-laws included! No, it's not caramel. The best way I can describe it is to call it caramel fudge, but then there is bound to be somebody who thinks it should be chocolaty too if I say 'fudge'. I make very good fudge, and the year I included this with my fudge, NOBODY ate the regular fudge, and my my brother in law BEGGED me to make him some more Aunt Bill's just for him! Does anybody know an easier way to beat the sheen out of it? It kills my elbow, and I don't have a heavy duty mixer. Is there a mixer heavy duty enough to do this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Mitchell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
One of my all-time favorite Christmas candies. Granny would include these in her gift boxes (read: former bluebonnet fruitcake tins) to all of the grandkids. The Aunt Bill's were always the first to go. So good. Karen, thank you for sharing this. I make it every year now and the reviews are always fantastic. To those that say "it's caramel": caramel wishes it was this good. I use two cast iron pans, one a skillet and the other a dutch oven (no legs) to prepare this wonderful candy. Jack
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef_jack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
My mom gave me this recipe last Christmas. I made two batches of the stuff. It's well worth the effort. I honestly thought Aunt Bill was a relative somewhere down the road. I assumed that was how my mom got the recipe. She said this was a favorite candy of hers many years ago. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
As other people have stated, I always thought that "Aunt Bill" was a relative that my Grandmother got this recipe from!! My family has discovered the trick to beating the mixture for the 15 minutes to get the sheen out . . . use an Electric Power Drill!! Yes your husband's drill. Insert your wooden spoon into the end of the drill and have it do the work for you! Trust me, I've even heard this same trick from a friends grandmother and she does the same thing and has been for almost 2 decades. Favorite Candy of All Time!! P.S. It freezes REALLY well and lasts for months that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blanchard, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
This is an old family favorite. It is rich, but less rich than fudge. It makes a nice complement to all the fudge that gets handed during the holidays. I am curious to hear who was Aunt Bill?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
I have had this same recipe for years and everyone loves it. To the person who prefers "caramel," it does taste similar, but it does not have the consistency of caramel and is much richer and tastier if made correctly. It is a "two-person" candy, with the "pourer" being the stronger of the two. It is well worth the effort. You should try it at least once! You'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
We have been making this candy for years and I have yet to meet a single person that didn't simply love it. I am asked every year to make it from Thanksgiving through New Years and beyond. BEST HOMEMADE CANDY EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Henryetta, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I've made this batch in double with success. The trick is to not get in a hurry and have help in the kitchen. I use stainless cookware and utensils, I tend to break wooden spoons too easily. Use a large sauce pan, when you add the soda the volume of the candy will easily double. I also put a cookie sheet on top of the stove to move the sauce pan to. This way if Mt. Vesuvius becomes a reenactment on my stove the clean up is simple. Use unsalted butter. Tag team stirring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Now that I have wiped the tears away from laughing, I can type. You see, I thought this was an old "secret" family recipe. One that my mother gave to me before she died. I nearly died when I saw that my family's "secret recipe" is all over the world!!! This candy is beyond compare. I love it so much. I found a company in Austin, Texas, called " Lammes Candies " that makes this candy (or close). It, too, is divine and will suffice as a substitute if you can't make your own. When I get to heaven, I am going to have to remember to tell my mama about this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I can't tell you how thrilled and SURPRISED I was to see this recipe posted on your site. My mother made it every Christmas and I attempted it several times during the past 50 years, BUT, NEVER really mastered it, wanted to try it this year, but my old copy was so bad I was afraid I'd leave out a step or ingredient. Took a chance and typed it into the search here on allrecipes.com and voila! Even has the same name, which is unbelievable (it is an unusual name, right?). My adult grandson helped me with the pouring and stirring-I could not have done it without him. It turned out perfectly, just like my mother made. It's hard to describe the texture and flavor, suffice it to say, it's like nothing else, it's delicious, and worth all the work. I felt very guilty for never helping my mother, she did it all alone. I can also understand why she hoarded it until Christmas eve. When I served it at a family gathering, this year, I gave a little presentation as to how much work it was and gave my grandson, Cassidy, props for all his muscle power and encouragement. This candy is a lot like caramel, without the stickiness, fudgelike in texture, but the browned sugar flavor is prominently scrumptous. If I haven't scared you away, EVERYONE should try it! You will love it, like all my family and friends loved it! Thank you for posting it!!! I love you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States