Aunt Bill's Brown Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
This is an old family favorite. It is rich, but less rich than fudge. It makes a nice complement to all the fudge that gets handed during the holidays. I am curious to hear who was Aunt Bill?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
My mom gave me this recipe last Christmas. I made two batches of the stuff. It's well worth the effort. I honestly thought Aunt Bill was a relative somewhere down the road. I assumed that was how my mom got the recipe. She said this was a favorite candy of hers many years ago. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Waste of time. The recipe came out as inteneded no problems there but what your essential making is caramels. And the caramel isn't very good. I've made much better and easier ones from this site by using recipes that say "caramels". The flavor of these is very amatuer. No one liked them. I though I was making some other type of candy. If I wanted caramels I would use the recipe on this site "Caramels" submitted by Barbara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This has been a traditional Christmas candy in our family for several generations. Our recipe is slightly different, but old enough that the sugar is measured in pints, etc. Still, the recipe is essentially the same. Whenever we take this candy to work or to a party we are constantly requested to share the recipe. It is ALWAYS as hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Esbon, Kansas, USA
Living In: Great Bend, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
I have had this same recipe for years and everyone loves it. To the person who prefers "caramel," it does taste similar, but it does not have the consistency of caramel and is much richer and tastier if made correctly. It is a "two-person" candy, with the "pourer" being the stronger of the two. It is well worth the effort. You should try it at least once! You'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
We made this every year for Christmas and gave it to neighbors along with fudge and divinity (no cookies in our house!) I too, thought Aunt Bill was a relative. My mom got it from her mother-in-law in the 40's, so I imagine this recipe is quite old. I've tasted something similar in Texas-it was a Mexican candy-but wasn't as rich as the Brown Candy. And when we made it growing up- we cracked the pecans by hand-saving the perfect halves for the divinity and the pieces for the brown candy and the fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stuart, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I love this recipe, my grandma made them every Christmas when I was a kid, now I make them with my kids. Grandma always made them by hersef without a problem, but I like to have another person help me. These are firmer and have a different texture than caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I would rate this more than 5 Stars if I could. This recipe is absolutely worth the extra time and effort. My grandmother made this for years when I was a kid. Now that she is gone, I am continuing the tradition. I usually have to do one batch with nuts and one without! I also used to think Aunt Bill was a relative that I never got to meet!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
This candy recipe was first published in December 1936 in The Daily Oklahoman in Aunt Susan's food column. My grandmother made it for my father when he was a boy, and it is still his favorite candy to this day. It is a favorite candy of most members of my family, in-laws included! No, it's not caramel. The best way I can describe it is to call it caramel fudge, but then there is bound to be somebody who thinks it should be chocolaty too if I say 'fudge'. I make very good fudge, and the year I included this with my fudge, NOBODY ate the regular fudge, and my my brother in law BEGGED me to make him some more Aunt Bill's just for him! Does anybody know an easier way to beat the sheen out of it? It kills my elbow, and I don't have a heavy duty mixer. Is there a mixer heavy duty enough to do this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Mitchell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
old old recipe. The girls/ladies in our family get together between Thanksgiving and Christmas to make this candy. It's a team effort - but WELL worth it!!! Fun family memories we're making too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States