Aunt Bev's Glorified Grilled Cheese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Awesome! Thanks to Aunt Bev! The only thing I changed, because it didn't need any change is the Swiss, I changed it to baby swiss which is milder. Thank you for this wonderful recipe, I wish I thought of myself! 5 stars! P.S. My 3 (ages 5-12) very picky Grandchildren, that don't even like grilled cheese, LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CiaoAmica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I made this today for my lunch, while the kids had English Muffin Pizzas again. I thought there was sliced ham in the fridge for this sandwich, but I was mistaken. That was the only thing I had to omit. Other than that, I made it just like specified. It was filling. Different from typical grilled cheese. Next time, I'll be sure there's ham in the fridge, and I might add some sliced onion, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
These were okay. They cooked beautifully and the egg didn't lend any flavor which I was worried about. Maybe with a different cheese to give it more of a pop it would be better. I might try them again with cheddar but as was I found them kind of blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jackie A
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Very good recipe, although I changed a bit. When I made this for my little sister, I added pickles and used american cheese instead of swiss. She said it was the best grilled cheese she's ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie A

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Yummy and Easy. I used cheddar (didn't have swiss) and added a bit of milk to the egg. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wonder Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
mmmmmmmmmm very good. I used provolone instead of swiss cause that is what I had. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
I did not care for this. It had to much of an egg taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
These are really great sandwiches! Thanks for the post! However, they aren't for someone on a diet! I didn't have any Italian bread so I just used white bread & added a touch of oregano to the egg mixture. I used spicy brown mustard instead of Dijon mustard because I didn't have any & I cut it down to only 1 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
These were great, we did sub the swiss for provolone and havarti cheese. Thanks for the post. I wanted to update this review 08/21/06 only because we tried this for breakfast and used cheddar and american cheese with the ham. I used the texas toast bread, and added hard eggs to the sandwich. My husband preferred his open faced with the ham, cheese then an egg over easy to top his off. Yummy Yummy Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
mmmmmmm, these sandwiches are so tasty! similar to, but not as heavy as a monte cristo sandwich. we ate these for dinner but i also made an extra one to warm up the next day (not that it probably wouldn't be delicious cold.) many thanks for your aunt bev's recipe, angelfluff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States