Aunt Bev's Glorified Grilled Cheese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
Mmmmm, I loved this! The salty ham and tangy mustard go together so well. This would be good even without the egg. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Mmm. These are great. I used monterey jack though instead of swiss. I like it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Very neat to see this posted here. I have made these for years and love these! I love allrecipes.com. So nice that they post recipes for cooks of all ages and abilities. Gorgeous pic(s) Caroline! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2006
Yum! Thank you! This is so simple and has so many possibilities. Recipe as is - 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
mmmmmmm, these sandwiches are so tasty! similar to, but not as heavy as a monte cristo sandwich. we ate these for dinner but i also made an extra one to warm up the next day (not that it probably wouldn't be delicious cold.) many thanks for your aunt bev's recipe, angelfluff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
These were great, we did sub the swiss for provolone and havarti cheese. Thanks for the post. I wanted to update this review 08/21/06 only because we tried this for breakfast and used cheddar and american cheese with the ham. I used the texas toast bread, and added hard eggs to the sandwich. My husband preferred his open faced with the ham, cheese then an egg over easy to top his off. Yummy Yummy Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
These are really great sandwiches! Thanks for the post! However, they aren't for someone on a diet! I didn't have any Italian bread so I just used white bread & added a touch of oregano to the egg mixture. I used spicy brown mustard instead of Dijon mustard because I didn't have any & I cut it down to only 1 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
I did not care for this. It had to much of an egg taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
mmmmmmmmmm very good. I used provolone instead of swiss cause that is what I had. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Yummy and Easy. I used cheddar (didn't have swiss) and added a bit of milk to the egg. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wonder Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States