Aunt Bev's Famous Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
The pie was acceptable but a bit on the runny side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyn Gonzalez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This is the apple pie your Grandma used to make. Simple, easy, deliciously-satisfying All-American comfort food. Always a winner at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKYWAH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
The BEST apple pie EVER!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Seabrook, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Turned out great!!! Made no changes at all!!! great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
A perfect pie!!!! First time I made as the recipe reads. The crust domed over the filling, so the second time I made on I baked the apples for 20 mins to soften them so they settle, then added them to the crust and baked until the crust was golden brown. It tasted wonderful, and the crust lay on top of the filling this time, but the apples were a little overdone. Next time I will bake the apples a shorter time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Breinigsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Well I liked it because it wasn't runny when I added a bit of flour to the bottom of the crust before sticking in the apples but my hubby " the pie lover " thought that the apples were to soft by the time that the crust was ready !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Very very good!!!! I tend to over-complicate things, and when recipies are this simple, I have to add to it - - but I DIDN'T this time!! I stuck with this and the paie turned out WONDERFULLY!! I used 4 Honey Crisps and 4 Granny Smiths... I learned a way back that making a good apple pie is made GREAT when you combine types of apples... cant get much different than these two - but the Honey Crisps are fall and early winter only.... YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine Gibson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This is a great recipe. Adding the flour to the apple mix really helps to keep the filling from becoming too runny. I omitted the nutmeg and used macintosh apples instead of tart apples because of personal preference but otherwise followed the recipe. This turned out to be the best apple pie I have made yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I used a refrigerated crust and it wasn't terrible, but like others said it came out a bit runny. I'll try adding more cornstarch/flour next time to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Love this recipe. Will make every Thanksgiving from now on. Thank you so much for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Hall Lynam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hannibal, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States