Aunt Bev's Famous Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Exelent pie, I give it a 4 only because it was a bit too sweet for my taste. I had no problems with it being runny, and it had an even better flavor when it was reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
way tooo runnyyyyyy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Rucker, Alabama, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Hubby likes! about to make this for the second time with some twists. First time I got rave reviews from my husband.he prefers the filling not to be too mushy and appreciated that the apples were still a bit firm. This time I will brush some eggwash to the bottom crust and add some flour to the filling. we'll see what happens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy P.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This recipe was great after I made a couple adjustments. I added 4 tablespoons of flour to avoid a runny pie.I saw someone say their crust was soggy on the bottom. I brush the bottom of the crust with egg white before adding the filling. I also used 3/4 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup white sugar. To finish the pie for a picture perfect look, brush the top with the remaining egg white and sprinkle with white sugar. Never a pasty dull looking crust will you ever have again. I always get "oohs and ahhhs". If you're creative, you can cut shapes into the top crust before putting on the top, like hearts. Save the cut out hearts to lay decoratively around the pie, securing in place with egg white as "glue" and brushing the top of them with the egg white as well. If the crust starts to brown too quick, lay a piece of aluminum foil over the top for the remainder of baking. Don't seal it on, just lay over the top of the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wick of Twizt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I have been making pies for years, but could never find a good apple pie recipe. This is it! The pie was perfect, everyone loved it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
this was easy and awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Baked this pie for a church potluck dinner. I used the Miracle Baking Powder Pie Crust found on this site; the result was an excellent pie. The only change I made was to squeeze the juice of a half lemon into the pie mixture. Adjust the sugar according to the tartness of your apples. You will get a lot of compliments!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Great recipe!! Don't need to change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noonie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dcruzen
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
wonderful recipe! was watery, but I tipped the pie to the side and just dumped it out before serving it. I will make this again for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dcruzen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This is a great recipe. I think using white sugar makes all the difference. I did leave out the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States