Aunt Bev's Famous Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Very good recipe! I didn't have any nutmeg and spaced and forgot to add butter and it still came out very tasty. Not sure I will even bother with the butter next time, but I think the nutmeg will be the finishing touch to make it perfect. The consistency was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Great pie, made it for a raffle, and received many compliments from the winner. Made it with the French Pastry Pie Crust from Allrecipes. Shut the oven off and left the pie in the oven for 10 more minutes so it would not be runny. Will definitely keep this in my recipe box and use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I liked this recipe for its simplicity. This was the first apple pie I'd ever tried to make from scratch and thought the simplest recipe would be the best for me to learn with! I used a mix of 3 Granny Snith and 4 Golden Delicious apples and thought it turned out pretty well for a first attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leighanncherry81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesboro, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Very disappointed in the consistency, or lack of, in this pie recipe. The taste was okay, but as other reviewers reported, too runny. I made this apple pie twice in 2 days, thinking that I had done something wrong....not so, the recipe should be revised - I'm thinking more flour to firm it up, as I've seen in other fruit pie recipes. I would try another recipe for better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kehau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I was disapointed, way to runny, a sloppy pie. I was looking forward to a good apple pie kinda like a store bought one, I followed this to a T and it was to runny. I say keep looking for another receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This recipe was my first apple pie and it was incredibly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
The best one I've ever made. My family raves about it and my son can't wait to help me make pie now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Made this for my son's birthday, he loves apple pie, he said it was really good and ate two slices. I used corn starch instead of flour (which is how I make blueberry pie) and the pie was a little runny, not too bad, but I think next time I will use at least 3 tablespoons of starch. When the pie was done, I brushed on some corn syrup that I thinned slightly with a small amount of hot water, then sprinkled cinnamon sugar on top, put back in the oven for 3 minutes, so the top was shiny and glossy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Really good! The only thing I changed was I made it a dutch apple pie because I don't really like crust that much. I didn't change the filling at all. It was super runny though after 50 minutes at 400 degrees, so I had to let it bake for at least 30 more minutes. Next time I might add more flour to it. Other than that, it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This is good! I only had one pie crust so I used a casserole dish,placed the apples,added the spice mix and placed pie crust on top and it turned out very well! will follow recipe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States