Aunt Bev's Famous Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This is a really easy recipe. It is cooking right now, and smells wonderful. I am giving it to my mother, but I am definitely going to make another one for my family at home tomorrow. If I don't they will probably kill me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This recipe combined with other reviewer suggestions was my best apple pie ever. I've always had problems with soggy, undercooked bottom crusts. When using my pizza stone recently it occurred to me that baking a pie on it might help. I put the stone in when first turning on the oven and used the suggestion of brushing the bottom crust with egg white. Perfect! The other suggestions I incorporated were: Used half white & half brown sugar, reducing both slightly. Brushed the top crust with egg white & sprinkled with cinnamon sugar. Changed the flour to 3 tablespoons flour & 3 tablespoons corn starch. Used 2 teaspoons cinnamon & 3/4 teaspoon nutmeg. The end result was no runny mess, perfectly cooked apples & flaky bottom crust (I use Pillsbury crusts - love them). Can't wait to make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura's Cakewalk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
@DLAZ: Yea me too. A little watery but very good. My first attempt at a pie of any sort. I'm thinking a little more flour??? My wife, the in-laws and kids loved it! Anyway...thanks for the recipe Lori!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dadof3va

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Fantastic! My wife and I have been looking for a great apple pie recipe and this is it. We followed the directions exactly and the results were fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by st1100pilot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Doylestown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I may play around with the recipe just a little but over all this is one of the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D're

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Excellent traditional apple pie recipe! Glad I found it. In the past my apple pies either turned out too tart or too sweet, but if you follow the instructions and use tart apples like Granny Smith the tart/sweet balance in this pie is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
YUM! My son-in-law wanted apple pie for his birthday, since we live in Michigan, and it's fall, it was a perfect request. I used a combination of Cortland and Granny Smith apples. This one will be put in the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Great Recipe! I've made a few apple pies before, but this one is the best. I don't think it was too runny, we liked it that way. I made it with the Miracle Baking Powder Pie Crust recipe from this site. I will definitely make this one again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Yes!! I finally found the perfect apple pie recipe. I didn't have to deviate from the recipe at all. Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
EASY!I have made this several times and each time it is perfect! Maybe the tough critics are using the wrong apples? I have been using red delicious and they are delicious!! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States