Aunt Bev's Famous Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This was very good. I even messed up and forgot to put the sugar in and had to take the top crust off and just sprinkle sugar throughout as best I could and then put the top back on and it still came out great! I had no problem with runny sauce or gummy bottom. I did use an egg wash on the top with sugar sprinkled over it and it came out nice and brown. I did turn the heat down when it got brown so it wouldn't burn which made it possible to stick my small ham in next to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl Watson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by altechbake
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I thought this recipe was great. I read all the reviews so I used 5 apples, 3 gala and 2 granny smith, 3/4 cup sugar, and 5 tbs flour. I brushed the crust with egg white so it wouldn't get soggy. The end result is the picture with the flower crust top. I served it with vanilla ice cream and my whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
quite good, however I changed the sugar to half brown and half white sugars and added an extra tablespoon of flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I thought this Recipe worked great for the holidays, I have a smaller oven and had to make adjustments for the size of pan.. but over all the recipe still came out well.. Husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
My husband loved this pie and my daughter approved as well :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by txsweetheart85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crosby, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
YUMMY!!! I make this all the time and everyone LOVES it!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This is the best apple pie I've ever made. It was so good that I made it 3X in 1 wk. And not to mention the way the house smells when it's being cooked. To keep things simple, I bought the pillsbury pie crust. It was delicious. I cant wait to start making it again this fall/winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
The flavor was great but the filling was a bit runny. Good tip on baking at 400 for the first 30 minutes and reducing the temp. for the last 20 minutes to help avoid the overly brown crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
My parents came to visit my husband and I at our new home and I made this as my very first apple pie. My mom raved! She said that next to hers and my grandmothers it was the best pie she'd ever eaten! I baked the bottom crust for about 7 minutes before I put the filling in it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nachoqtpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Great standard apple pie recipe. A winning base pie ready for flavor tweaks to your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States