Aunt Bev's Famous Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This recipe was great after I made a couple adjustments. I added 4 tablespoons of flour to avoid a runny pie.I saw someone say their crust was soggy on the bottom. I brush the bottom of the crust with egg white before adding the filling. I also used 3/4 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup white sugar. To finish the pie for a picture perfect look, brush the top with the remaining egg white and sprinkle with white sugar. Never a pasty dull looking crust will you ever have again. I always get "oohs and ahhhs". If you're creative, you can cut shapes into the top crust before putting on the top, like hearts. Save the cut out hearts to lay decoratively around the pie, securing in place with egg white as "glue" and brushing the top of them with the egg white as well. If the crust starts to brown too quick, lay a piece of aluminum foil over the top for the remainder of baking. Don't seal it on, just lay over the top of the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wick of Twizt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
Loved this recipe. I used granny smith apples and it had a great taste. My bottom crust was soggy, but to avoid this you can dust the bottom crust with flour before putting in the filling. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This recipe is *perfect*. Toward the end, I brush the top crust with melted butter and add a little cinnamon sugar. Thank you so much for this delicious apple pie recipe...I will never look for another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbphilli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
A little runny. The next time I made it, I substituted corn starch in place of flour and also cut down on amount of sugar, used 3/4 cup instead of 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
OK recipe, after tweeking. This was my first time baking a pie and I wanted to surprise my hubby with his favorite. I followed this recipe to the "T", but I used a store-bought crust. I surpised him alright...with runny filling and under cooked apples! What a sloppy mess! I was disappointed and embarassed because I read every review before choosing this recipe. There is a happy ending though...I put the pie back in the oven for another hour and 15 minutes (covered the crust with foil), and then I put it in the fridge overnight and finally this morning...Aunt Bev's apple pie! Beware.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Yummy!Tart apples are the only ones that should be in a pie. I used granny smiths and the sweetness/tartness was perfect. Mine was a little runny and was the last time I made this also. Next time I'll add a bit more flour. Flavor is excellent though. Use the baker's secret pie crust from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
what a great apple pie! it was very easy to make, and turned out beautifully! I used the easy flaky pie crust recipe for the crust. I'll make this my new apple pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oxford, Oxfordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
This apple pie always gets rave reviews - I love to try new recipies on your website and this recipe is one I keep coming back to! You can always switch it up a little by adding more cinnamon, and sometimes depending on what type of apples I am using - I cut back on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Taste is great - but this was really, really runny. *Update, I made this with granny smith apples and FIVE tablespoons of flour, worked a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MEGLANGFORD
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
Huge hit at the party I took it to! I used all 7 apples, and a 10 inch glass pie dish. I was afraid it would not be moist enough, but it was perfect, great consistency and everything. My only suggestion is to put a pan at least one rack underneath the dish in the oven, as my pie did bubble over just a bit. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGLANGFORD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States