Aunt Bev's Famous Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Really good! The only thing I changed was I made it a dutch apple pie because I don't really like crust that much. I didn't change the filling at all. It was super runny though after 50 minutes at 400 degrees, so I had to let it bake for at least 30 more minutes. Next time I might add more flour to it. Other than that, it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This is good! I only had one pie crust so I used a casserole dish,placed the apples,added the spice mix and placed pie crust on top and it turned out very well! will follow recipe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Exelent pie, I give it a 4 only because it was a bit too sweet for my taste. I had no problems with it being runny, and it had an even better flavor when it was reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
way tooo runnyyyyyy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Rucker, Alabama, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Hubby likes! about to make this for the second time with some twists. First time I got rave reviews from my husband.he prefers the filling not to be too mushy and appreciated that the apples were still a bit firm. This time I will brush some eggwash to the bottom crust and add some flour to the filling. we'll see what happens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy P.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This recipe was great after I made a couple adjustments. I added 4 tablespoons of flour to avoid a runny pie.I saw someone say their crust was soggy on the bottom. I brush the bottom of the crust with egg white before adding the filling. I also used 3/4 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup white sugar. To finish the pie for a picture perfect look, brush the top with the remaining egg white and sprinkle with white sugar. Never a pasty dull looking crust will you ever have again. I always get "oohs and ahhhs". If you're creative, you can cut shapes into the top crust before putting on the top, like hearts. Save the cut out hearts to lay decoratively around the pie, securing in place with egg white as "glue" and brushing the top of them with the egg white as well. If the crust starts to brown too quick, lay a piece of aluminum foil over the top for the remainder of baking. Don't seal it on, just lay over the top of the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wick of Twizt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I have been making pies for years, but could never find a good apple pie recipe. This is it! The pie was perfect, everyone loved it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
this was easy and awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Baked this pie for a church potluck dinner. I used the Miracle Baking Powder Pie Crust found on this site; the result was an excellent pie. The only change I made was to squeeze the juice of a half lemon into the pie mixture. Adjust the sugar according to the tartness of your apples. You will get a lot of compliments!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Great recipe!! Don't need to change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States