Aunt Bev's Famous Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
@DLAZ: Yea me too. A little watery but very good. My first attempt at a pie of any sort. I'm thinking a little more flour??? My wife, the in-laws and kids loved it! Anyway...thanks for the recipe Lori!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dadof3va

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Fantastic! My wife and I have been looking for a great apple pie recipe and this is it. We followed the directions exactly and the results were fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by st1100pilot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Doylestown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I may play around with the recipe just a little but over all this is one of the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D're

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Excellent traditional apple pie recipe! Glad I found it. In the past my apple pies either turned out too tart or too sweet, but if you follow the instructions and use tart apples like Granny Smith the tart/sweet balance in this pie is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
YUM! My son-in-law wanted apple pie for his birthday, since we live in Michigan, and it's fall, it was a perfect request. I used a combination of Cortland and Granny Smith apples. This one will be put in the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Great Recipe! I've made a few apple pies before, but this one is the best. I don't think it was too runny, we liked it that way. I made it with the Miracle Baking Powder Pie Crust recipe from this site. I will definitely make this one again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Yes!! I finally found the perfect apple pie recipe. I didn't have to deviate from the recipe at all. Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
EASY!I have made this several times and each time it is perfect! Maybe the tough critics are using the wrong apples? I have been using red delicious and they are delicious!! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
great Recipe! I did make a few changes 1) because I was pressed for time 2) because some of it is just how I remember my grandmother doing it. I was very young the last time I saw my grandma make a pie but this gave methe basics I needed to try my own. So changes..I used 3/4c white sugar 1/4 brown. I added a TINY bit of cloves and just eyed and tasted for cinnamon n nutmeg. Change 2 I used refridg crust (no time) change 3 I added about a half cup of raisins to the bottom of the pie. they soak up the juice that tends to make the bottom crust mushy and gooy. They plump up with all those yummy juices and add a little something. Also unlike a lot of people I didnt use any butter. But it was very sweet and yummy. Thanks for the great starter!!! I have now added pies to my list of baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I've made this pie several times and always get rave reviews! I use a "crumb" topping instead of the second pie crust. This is a keeper...won't be needing any other apple pie recipes! The nutmeg makes it perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States