Aunt Bev's Famous Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Great recipe. I used Granny Smith apples and Pillsbury refrigerated pie crust. I did add 4 tablespoons of flour. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSue

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This gets five stars with several changes I made. First, I used 6 apples because 7 would've been too much. I also added at least a half cup of flour to the apple mixture which sounds like a lot but ended up PERFECT to thicken it just right. And lastly I forgot to put the tbsp of butter before I sealed the top crust but didn't miss it at all. It came out absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This is a great base recipe. After reading many reviews and suggestions I made a few adjustments: used half granny smith, half macintosh. I bushed the bottom cust with egg whites to keep from getting to soggy. I also used 4 tbs flour. I made a beautifully decorative leaf crust that I brushed with the remaining egg white and sprinkled with sugar. Once the crust browned I poured the butter in to the in through my vent holes, as I totally fogot to put on the pats before the crust. It was fantastic!!!! Great with a scoop of ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
It was really quite good. I used Macintosh apples. The only thing I didn't like was the nutmeg. I cut sugar by 1/4 cup. I will make again without nutmeg. I used my own pie crust, which is really tender! I also cover the rim with foil for the first 40 minutes; remove and continue baking. This way even the rim is tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I loved this the only issue I had it was a bit too runny which maybe next time I will used more flour. But also might cut back on the sugar. I did 1/2 brown and 1/2 white. But it was still wonderful thank u..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foody320

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This pie was very good and easy to make. Just the right amount of spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLC2230

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Delish! I followed the recipe to a T. This was my first attempt at a pie ever so, I had a bit of trouble rolling out the pie crust (I had to buy boxed pie crust mix b/c I couldn't find already made shells go figure). Anyways despite my crust not looking so perfect the pie tasted awesome! This is a great, simple good old standby that I will definitely make again. I found already rolled pie crust at the supermarket the other day too go figure! Next time I will use that :) Thanks Aunt Bev! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrab
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I'm not a fan of apple pie and so I have never made one, but my hubby wanted one for his b-day instead of cake. My pie plate is 9.5" so I was able to use up all of the 10 apples that I had (4 granny smith, 5 mcintosh, 1 fugi). The next time I make this pie, I will go with more granny smiths. I feel like they held up better after baking. I read all the reviews before trying and this is what I ended up doing: brushed the bottom crust whit egg white before filling (to prevent sogginess), doubled the spices, used 3 tbsp flour/3tbsp cornstarch & added a splash of vanilla to the apples. After 20 minutes of baking, I brushed the top crust with egg white and sprinkled with granulated sugar. Everyone who tried the pie loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrab

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This is a really easy recipe. It is cooking right now, and smells wonderful. I am giving it to my mother, but I am definitely going to make another one for my family at home tomorrow. If I don't they will probably kill me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This recipe combined with other reviewer suggestions was my best apple pie ever. I've always had problems with soggy, undercooked bottom crusts. When using my pizza stone recently it occurred to me that baking a pie on it might help. I put the stone in when first turning on the oven and used the suggestion of brushing the bottom crust with egg white. Perfect! The other suggestions I incorporated were: Used half white & half brown sugar, reducing both slightly. Brushed the top crust with egg white & sprinkled with cinnamon sugar. Changed the flour to 3 tablespoons flour & 3 tablespoons corn starch. Used 2 teaspoons cinnamon & 3/4 teaspoon nutmeg. The end result was no runny mess, perfectly cooked apples & flaky bottom crust (I use Pillsbury crusts - love them). Can't wait to make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura's Cakewalk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States